Today I started with my trainer!

I talked with my trainer this afternoon. I’m going to LOVE working with Pamela Herandez of Thrive Personal Fitness. She’s very nice, so that’s good. She also listens. She’s working with me on my diet, walking, running and gasp-she’s having me do things to build my muscles. Oye.

One thing that’s great about having someone helping me out is that she’s going to help me to learn balance. My way of doing things is to THROW myself in and do or die. Apparently, that’s not a good idea. Because then it’s too hard, hurts too much and you end up at “burn-out” long before you’ve been able to develop good habits.

So, Pamela is helping me work towards these major goals: run 1 mile straight by the end of 12 weeks and be at 199 or lower. But more than that, she’s helping me not to be afraid of the whole process. It’s a little scary being in a place of fitness and “thinner-ness”. I don’t know what to do with myself sometimes. She’s helping me to lay a path that works for ME. I never knew it would be so helpful to have someone pushing me along, gently but persistently. It means the world to me.

I believe that over the next few months, I’ll be able to find just the right place I want to be, both in weight, exercise and overall general balance in my whole life. That’s some amazing stuff there.

So, guess what? I dug into that book I mentioned a few days ago: Yoga for Real People-A year of classes. It’s wonderful!

There are about 10 or so asanas (poses) for each week. You pull out your mat, read the directions carefully and then slowly work through the poses on your own time, in your own way.

First, I didn’t really think I could do it myself. I always feel I need a DVD to do yoga. Or a class. Now I’m finding that by focusing on just the yoga poses I’m working on for THAT week (You repeat the practice daily for 1 week, then move onto the next week.), by slowing down, taking my time and holding poses for longer than the DVD instructor tells you to-my muscles are relaxing, I can do more, go further! Who knew?

I guess this is why a “personal daily practice” is so important. You can take your time and work on a few poses, really let your body relax into the poses. Get comfortable with them, learn what hurts, what’s too much, learn to go further if you can. When you’re working with only DVD’s, the instructor needs to move it along–mix it up–keep it from being boring. So often I’ve felt cheated when I have to move out of a pose so quickly.

I’m learning this very important thing, which honestly, I never EVER got: No matter what you’re doing, take your time, go at your own speed, don’t try to push it. Just do what you can do at whatever level you’re at NOW, and be proud of it!!! I’m learning not to be in such a rush to “achieve”. I want to appreciate my journey. Where I am now. What I can do now. This is new to me. Living in the moment. What a concept.

*Calories: 1430
*Exercise: 8 1/2 miles, 25 minutes yoga, 20-25 minutes of the exercises for strength from my trainer. That’s a BUNCH-o-exercise. I feel so good lately. Looking back at November, when I was stuck in a hotel room in the cold in Michigan, trying to get my book done to turn into an agent=no exercise=felt like garbage all month. I’m wondering: daily exercise, is it keeping my ms from flaring up? Hmmm. I’m intrigued.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today I started with my trainer!

  1. Jennifer says:

    The part of your post: “One thing that’s great about having someone helping me out is that she’s going to help me to learn balance. My way of doing things is to THROW myself in and do or die. Apparently, that’s not a good idea. Because then it’s too hard, hurts too much and you end up at “burn-out” long before you’ve been able to develop good habits.”

    was really interesting to me. I tend to agree. I think most people that are so SICK of being fat really want to go full-force-head-on into the weight loss journey that they are easy to get discouraged if there is an early burn-out or stumbling blocks. It seems like an all or nothing proposition.

    But, I think taking things at a slow even pace is a good suggestion.

    You’re doing great, and I’m impressed by all of the exercise you’ve gotten in on a very consistent basis! Good job!

Say Hi!

