Weigh in Wednesday

Finally, FINALLY I can report a loss. I lost 2 pounds this week and boy did I work for it! I’m at 208 now and am starting with my new fitness/diet coach in two days, so I have high hopes that I’ll continue to lose one pound a week for the next 12 weeks. And now, I must be off to Starbucks!

…and I’m back. Just had to get that out, that I’d finally lost!

It’s another beautiful day here in Albuquerque. No freezing wind blowing, so I had a lovely walk this morning and am planning on another.

You know what I read this week? I read that for the best chance at excellent health and at living a long, un-diseased life, a woman should have a BMI of 23%, ideally. No more than 25%. OK, that freaks me out a little bit. My BMI is still at 31% though I’m sure that’s going to go down in the next few months.

I did the calculations and realized that if I get to 23% that will have me sitting at about 163, at 25% around 173. weighed 175 when I got married 29 years ago. I think I was 163 when I was in ninth grade. So I can’t seem to wrap my mind around that weight. It seems like what a fetus would weigh! And yes, I know how utterly stupid that comment is. I’m 5′ 9″ and am so used to being “big”. It just seems patently odd to me that someday I might be, dare I say, slender-willowy-slim. That’s just weird. My mind needs to work on that one.

My goal is 175, yes, but I know that even at that weight I had some fat going on. Ultimately, I don’t want “pretty” anymore, I want to be in super duper, bona fide excellent health. And that’s why I’m considering my BMI and what it should be. I never dreamed I’d care this much about my health and my future health. Funny how being 51 freakin’ years old makes you think of such things.

Sooooo. I’ll tell you something. I’m sort of really interested in yoga in a big way. I called the Albuquerque MS Society about 2 years ago, asking if they had a yoga class available and they said no, then the lady said, “Are you interested in teaching? Because if you are, PLEASE come in and talk to us.”

That’s stuck with me for a long time. Intrigued me. As I said, I started the training twice before, but didn’t follow through because it was just so difficult with my size and all. Now I’m thinking harder about it.

My hubby gets to come home for 2 weeks for Christmas break (He works for Boeing and they all get 2 weeks off for the holidays, which has always been awesome.) so we’re going to go downtown for some yoga classes on this break. I’ve found a place that teaches Anusara Yoga, which I don’t know anything about, in that I’ve never done it, but the principles of good attitudes/happy outlook on life really resonate with me. I’m interested in it.

Turns out, they have a 200 hour instructors training program too. So, I’m just putting that on the back-burner and thinking about it. Thinking. Thinking.

I introduced my husband to Yoga about 2 years ago. Honestly, he thought it was ridiculous that people think of yoga as anything more than exercise. I told him to just keep doing it for awhile and see what he thinks after a few weeks.

It didn’t take long for him to say that Yoga has changed the way he looks at the world, deals with problems, handles stress. He’s a better person because of yoga.

He discovered Hot Yoga when we lived just off of Green Lake in Seattle. A new studio opened up three blocks from our home so he went down to check it out. He ended up doing 10 sessions there, and 10 more to follow and he loved every sweaty, intense minute. Hot Yoga would kill me, flat out. I envy him doing it. I love the idea of Bikram yoga being the same poses over and over in a specific series. I find it difficult to remember poses, what to do next, etc.

I’m enjoying spending my evenings with books and magazines, trying to unravel the mysteries. If you have a great yoga book, please leave a comment and make a suggestion on what I could buy. Here are the ones I have:

Beyond Power Yoga
Yoga for 50+
Yoga for Real People (Which I just now noticed says that it has a YEAR of classes!)
The Complete Illustrated Book of Yoga
Yoga Journal’s Step by Step Home Practice System

*Calories: 1860 (ate at Eastern Vegetarian place with daughter. Threw my calories off a bit. So good though! And vegetarian! So there’s that.)
*Exercise: 8 miles, 20 minutes yoga

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

