Max Strom Yoga

I was feeling pretty off this morning, so I hung out for hours doing work in my office before I did some exercise. Today I did Max Strom’s Yoga: Strength, grace, healing.

It was pretty hard, but I really enjoyed it. The instruction is quite clear, some of the poses are difficult but he doesn’t have you leaping into and out of poses at the speed of light. That’s not something I’d enjoy.

And…I’m sore. After 2 days of hard yoga, I’m sore. I don’t like to get sore because I’m a huge weenie. But I’m trying to recognize that this means I’m actually DOING something with my muscles for the first time in maybe 15+ years. So, I’m not going to fuss too much about it.

I resubscribed to Yoga Journal last night and bought a couple more Yoga DVD’s. I’m enjoying reading the tons of yoga books I have here in the house that I’ve collected over the years.

I find myself in an odd place, one I don’t think I’ve been in before. I’ve dabbled in yoga for about 10 years or so. I really, really, really WANTED to make Yoga a daily part of my life and I did so for up to a couple months at a time many times in the past, but honestly, being quite overweight, it was pretty hard and I didn’t keep it up.

I’m starting to feel pulled in the direction of yoga as a daily practice. Now that I’m realizing I can do it, can work it pretty hard, I’m intrigued. The thing I love most about yoga is the way it affects your entire life, “off the mat”. When you’re doing yoga as a daily practice, your life lightens up, you calm down, de-stress easily, don’t make a huge deal about problems. Plus it really works to reduce inflammation so sometimes when I’m right on the very edge of feeling hideous, 20 minutes of Yoga can bring me back to good energy and health.

I was reading an article in Yoga Journal last night that talks about how excellent a yoga practice is for ms. Of course I know that, have for years. But again, doing yoga at 100 pounds overweight? Not so fun for me. Now, I think I’ll be able to jump in and get truly involved with yoga like I’ve always dreamed of.

Twice now, I’ve started the training to be a yoga teacher, and twice I didn’t follow through. Again, I was seriously overweight and I felt that facing the weight loss was too much for me to handle, so I stopped the training. Who knows, maybe I’ll pick up that dream again in the future.

I don’t mean this to scare ANYONE off of Yoga. It’s the bees-knees, truly it is. I’ve had a few Yoga DVD’s for people who are bigger and they’re great. I have DVD’s for pain, inflexibility, ms, all sorts of stuff. So if you’re interested, go for it.

*Calories: 1530
*Exercise: 45 minutes yoga, 5 miles

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Max Strom Yoga

  1. Fiona says:

    Hi, I’m a lurker;)

    I’ve just come back to Yoga after a year of getting stronger and fitter. It’s amazing what a difference losing a bit of weight and gaining great upper body strength can do for the joy of your practice, I have always felt more calm and sorted with Yoga, but its just much much better now. I was planning on launching myself back into the world of work in the New Year, (long time SAHM, no idea what I want to ‘be’) but I’m seriously thinking of seeing what happens if I extend my ‘self development’ phase and explore more Yoga, while I’m lucky enough to still have the chance – because at some point I will HAVE to work again. I’m starting with a four day immersion next weekend – can’t wait!

    Good look on your journey – Namaste.

    • Fiona,
      I’m SO glad you commented! Thank you for sharing your own yoga experience because it gives me great hope that things will get better and better.
      How wonderful that you’re doing a 4 day yoga immersion next weekend. I would LOVE to hear about what it was like for you. Please, please!!

Say Hi!

