Getting the hang of it

It’s taken almost a year for me to figure out my body and what I need and what works best for it. I’ve found that by walking VERY slow miles (About 21 minutes or so per mile) that I can usually do 4 miles in the morning and 4 more miles in the evening. On top of that, today I did about 30 minutes of Seane Corn’s “Yoga From the Heart” DVD. Me! This surprises the pants off me. I find I’m a lot more capable than I thought I was, and if I really pay attention to how I feel, I can go on for a long time. I just need many hours in between where I’m sitting at my desk, writing, or doing something quiet, so I can recharge my batteries. Then? I can go again!

NOW, I know, that last winter when I was both soooo overweight, and also felt I really had to push hard at the exercise to lose, that I was actually making it harder on myself, doing exercise the way I thought it “had to be done.” Because you have to, don’t you? Push, sweat, ache.

I find that, nada, you really don’t. I’ve been burning around 750 calories per day with exercise lately. If you have more energy than me, you could really crank it out in a hard aerobic class or something. Since I can’t do that, I’ve slowed down AND I find I can achieve a lot now.

What was really fun for me was the yoga class. You may remember that I said I was really going to make yoga a big part of my life in 2011. I’ve only been doing yoga every once in awhile this past year, and only 20 minute DVD’s that are really easy and slow. The last time I did an intense yoga class was sometime last winter when I was about 50 pounds heavier than I am now. I did the Yoga for Fat Burning DVD from the Biggest Loser, with Bob teaching the class. I’m not sure of the exact name of the DVD but I know that it kicked my butt SO BAD that I didn’t want to do any “hard” yoga, ever again. I honestly thought I couldn’t.

Today, I started Seane Corn’s DVD which is a 90 minute class, filmed at the Yoga Journal San Francisio Conference and it says right on the box that it’s a “heart pumping” class. I saw that and said, “On no. ON NO!” But I decided to do it anyway, just a few minutes of it-sort of ease myself in.

I did about 30 minutes of it and it was actually pretty hard, pretty intense. I was sweating. But you know what? I was DOING IT! Here’s a shocking fact: apparently when you lose a lot of weight…..you can DO THINGS EASIER. I know. It was quite a shock to me too.

This week I’ve been incorporating a few minutes of running into my long walks. Just a few minutes. Yesterday I ran 3 minutes straight and then stopped and was barely breathing hard. I was thinking, hmm, what’s wrong with this picture?

This past few months has really taught me a lesson, just because some things have always been hard for you, doesn’t mean they’ll ALWAYS be hard for you.

*Calories today: 1493
*Exercise: 8 miles, 30 minutes Yoga

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting the hang of it

  1. Good grief woman! You are amazing! Great job on the eight miles in a day. That’s incredible. More especially that it’s been something your body can handle gently and wisely. Good listening.

Say Hi!

