And on I talk…

I really believe you need time to lose weight. A lot of time. If you’re one of those people who can just jump in and never look back, awesome for you. You’re the rare one.

Because weight loss is such an all encompassing process involving habits both unconscious and conscious, and emotions and exposure-as you lose more of your “protection” from the world. It takes time. I want to say that a zillion times over. I’m not sure you can jump into anything without taking the time to transition, can you? I know I can’t. It makes me despise the very thing I’m doing. When I feel forced and up against the wall, that’s when I quit. For good. That doesn’t work for me.

I think you need 4-8 weeks of getting READY to lose weight without putting any pressure at all on yourself to lose even one ounce. And I’m not talking about that sneaky, in-the-back-door stuff where you’re really just trying to trick your mind. My mind is waaaay too smart for that one. I really do mean, start now and for the next 4-8 weeks just get ready to lose.

Have a goal in mind of how much you’d like to tackle. To say, “Well, I want to lose it ALL, of course,” is noble, yes. But what if you find you can’t do it all in one fell swoop? What would be a great amount to tackle right off? 50 pounds? 25? I think that’s totally doable.

I truly thought I could just leap in and go gang-busters and lose all 100+ pounds at once. But I didn’t. And now I’m glad I didn’t. As I’ve said before, it gave me some time to catch up with the new me. To process what I want now.

But more than that, to process WHY I want to lose more weight. Up until this point it was to be fit, healthy, look good, buy off-the-rack clothes. Now I have all of that. So why keep on losing? Even though I do NEED to lose more, I couldn’t find any reason to want to. And so I didn’t.

After taking months just hanging out and living life, now I see a new horizon. I see a new reason. I want to lose another 15 to lose my ever present belly that rolls over my jeans. I want to feel a little better overall and I want to have even more energy. In fact, I NEED more energy. When the MS knocks me down, it’s hard enough to dredge up any energy. I feel that if I’m at tip-top fitness, as much as I can be, for my age and my situation, then I’ll feel better even when I feel like crap. Does that make sense?

Now, it’s not about “looking good”. I couldn’t care less if I wear a size 10 or a 12 or a 14 like I do. Couldn’t care less. But I do care that I feel GREAT and that I can land at a weight where *I* feel better so that if I put on 3-4 pounds like we all do from time to time, I won’t feel miserable physically, I’ll just work on getting my habits back in shape.

So for right now, my goal is to lose about 15 pounds. My overall goal is more than that, but I’m not going to put pressure on myself. 15 pounds is a size. I know I’ll feel better. I know I’ll feel more in control of my health and body then. It makes sense to me at least. And really, that’s all that matters.

Lately I’ve been starting to think that if I spent 2 MONTHS getting ready to lose again, 4 months just maintaining, 4 months losing that 15, then 2 MORE months getting ready to lose the next 15…who cares??? As long as I’m moving in the right direction.

Tomorrow I want to talk about HOW you get ready to lose again. It’s especially important if you’ve lost a lot of weight and are struggling in that place where you’ve maybe gained a bit and are terrified but you just can’t make yourself start again. Maybe my strange ways will help you too.

I also want to talk about telling the truth, so I’ll try to address that before the weekend.

It’s sunny here in New Mexico. Cold yes. I think it’s the upper 40’s right now. But not a single cloud in the sky.

*Exercise today: walked 4 miles, 25 minutes easy yoga
*Calories:1985 Oye!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

