Getting ready for the holiday!

I love the log ceilings here in the Southwest. Isn’t this pretty? This is the ceiling of the library at Ghost Ranch, formally the home of one of the Johnson and Johnson people.

Writing, cleaning house and cooking for Thanksgiving, and getting some good exercise, walking twice today! It’s so sunny outside, but cold. Tomorrow it’s going to be cold AND windy, to the tune of 40 mph so it looks like it’ll be a yoga day tomorrow. I really wanted to take advantage of the weather and get outside today as much as I could.

My family all lives in the Seattle area, where they’ve received 8″ of snow over the past 2 days, an oddity in Washington state for the month of November. Usually it rains non-stop in November. Many people had to just stay home. Looking out my office window at the sun on the desert, it seems odd to think of other people having snow and ice on this day.

I think it’ s pretty hilarious that I’ve started getting really serious about weight loss again just when we go on a vacation and then enter the holiday season. But now that I’m thinking about it, it’s the BEST time to start. It’s a good way to creep up to the new year, making sure that I’m not gaining and am poised to lose again.

Now that I think about it, I want to say how mad I am that I listened to other people and left my scale at home for those 3 weeks when I was in Michigan. I DO feel that I’ve come to a better relationship with my scale in that I try HARD to not let it control my emotions anymore. However-I feel that it’s important to keep that “judge” in my life, that “balancer”.

If you have a weight problem, and have had a weight problem most of your life, how is it possible that a person could just say, “No, don’t need that judge anymore, I don’t need that help to know if I’m on balance. I’ll just KNOW it.”

Maybe someday, maybe not. But I feel I quite obviously need to lean on something else as a reflection on whether or not I am putting the knowledge I have into play correctly, or if I’m off base. My mind doesn’t seem capable of knowing whether or not I’m on track. I need that help. I can correct a problem if I see my weight go up from one day to the next, but over weeks? A lot of damage could be done.

*Calories today: 1372
*Exercise: Walked 38 minutes and then again, 65 minutes-total of 103 minutes

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

