I did it!!!! Ayeeeee!

I climbed Kitchen Mesa. Happy sigh! A 5 mile trip, we did it in 3:45 total. I could hardly pick my legs up on the way down, they were so tired. I thought of Shauna Reid (Diet Girl) SO many times because she doesn’t like the “going down the hill” part either.

By the way, please buy her book! It changed my whole life. And buy it NEW because the author, she doesn’t get any money if you buy it used. And I’m telling you, the $10 or so? It’s worth it a million times over. A billion.

Anyway, there were sections where, if I fell? It was “pick me up with a shovel time.” That part -not fun. I wanted to sit down on my behind and shimmy down the hill!

We hiked through all of this first:

This is me at THE TOP!

And us:

And now I must digress. Close to the top, for about the last 15 minutes, you’re climbing hand and foot over rocks, perched on the edge of nothingness. If you know me at all, you know…I don’t LIKE THINGS LIKE THIS. When Jeff pointed out these rocks and this tiny rock channel we had to climb up:


(coffee can is a marker)

To which is said, “Are you freakin’ KIDDING ME?” and “You’re out of your ever-loving’ mind!” But sheesh. I did it anyway.

Here’s Jeff, going first, up this narrow little channel of rocks to reach the top. See how he’s pretending we’re not about to die?

This is as far as Jeff could get me to back up to the edge. That’s Pedernal Mountain in the background, the one Georgia O’Keeffe loved so much and painted over and over.

It was truly an amazing 2 days, plus today we got to hike all day long before we left. I just took it slow, hiking for an hour here and hour and a half there, while Jeff went out and did more crazy hikes. It was a blissful time and I feel so blessed to have been able to go. I got this trip for free, by giving 60 of my photos to Ghost Ranch to use in their marketing. We stayed at the Tumbleweed cottage, one of the best on the place. It was an incredible trip. Amazing. So happy.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I did it!!!! Ayeeeee!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Wow! Fantastic job! I can tell by the expressions on your faces how much the two of you loved the trip. What an accomplishment…

  2. shauna says:

    ooh stunning pics again! congrats on your hike, i think i would have run in the other direction! 🙂

    (and thank you for your kind words too… that will keep me smiling all week! 🙂

Say Hi!

