Re-visiting “Supersize Me”

Yesterday, Jeff and I sat down to watch Supersize Me again on Netflix. We’ve only seen it once, years ago, and it made us stop going to McDonald’s entirely. We rarely go to any other fast food place, maybe twice a year for a salad. (Though we went to NY Coney Island in Michigan a few weeks ago for a chili hot dog. It alright – nothing special. Don’t need to go again.)

It was a great reminder to see the Supersize Me documentary again. It was so hard to watch Morgan gaining weight, becoming drastically unhealthy with every passing week.

I know someone who bought most of their meals at McDonald’s and other fast food places for over a year, possibly two, because their life was “so busy” they didn’t feel they had any other choice. Which isn’t true, of course. Now? This person is very sick with a multitude of problems including diabetes, with blood sugar levels that are “hospitalization” worthy.

Seeing what a difference 24 1/2 pounds gain looked like on Morgan Spurlock in Supersize Me reminded me of something. You know when you lose a lot of weight, say 50-200 pounds and you gain back 20 pounds? People want to tell themselves hey, I STILL have lost say, 125 pounds, so that’s not so bad.

No, it IS bad. I’ve “been there, done that” years ago. a 20 pound gain is a TWENTY POUND GAIN. Your body is affected, your health and your spirit are damaged. And of course, that 20 pound gain usually opens the door to gain another 20 and another, until you’re right back where you’ve started. I did that about 11 years ago, until I’d gained back most of the 125 pounds I’d lost.

I see some people who’ve lost a great deal of weight who then gain back that 20 or 30 or 50.

It’s such a hard thing to stay on track, I totally get that. But now? I know the danger inherent in believing the lies you tell yourself it’s not “so bad” that you put back on 20 of the 100 pounds you’ve lost.

I liken it to doing good in life in general. You can’t ride on the good that you did last year or last month or last week. You have a do-over every day of your life and you have to do “good” every day. The past doesn’t count. Does that make sense? It’s the same way with your health. It doesn’t work to say, “Well at least I’m still 80 pounds less than I used to be.” Believing that you’re “not so bad” will put you right back into the place you hate the most: out of shape, overweight and depressed. I believe you have to get that every single day is a chance for a do-over and if you’ve gained 3 pounds or 30, today is the day to address that. Because it’s NOT “OK” to your body. Your body doesn’t listen to your excuses. It just feels like crap.

All you have to do is to look at Morgan Spurlock at the beginning of his Supersize Me documentary and then see how he looks and feels at the end, after a 24 1/2 gain in only 30 days, to show you what it LOOKS like to gain back that 20 (+) pounds and your spirit and physical will show that wear and tear as well.

*Calories: 1729
*Exercise: really none. Cleaned house for 30 minutes. Was quite sick today, so the 30 minutes of cleaning felt like mountain climbing. Feeling better tonight.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Re-visiting “Supersize Me”

  1. Jen S. says:

    Wow, thanks for this post. I needed it! I’m not fighting weight, but I’m fighting my tendency to fill up on highly-processed energy drainers. Out of convenience, largely. Only you are right, they sap so much out of me, I’m much better off taking the time to cook a decent meal. Tonight I’m making stuffed red peppers. 🙂 Something happened when I hit thirty-five (and the problem only increased at 36) It’s getting harder to stay active. Muscles ache, joints pop, fatigue sets in. But I know it’s a use it or lose it thing.
    And to you, wow! 125 pounds??? What an inspiration you are!

Say Hi!

