Chocolate chips and pumpkin in the oatmeal

Did too much yesterday on too little sleep, so today? Not feeling so hot. Trying to take it easy with the family.

So, I tried the oatmeal with the pumpkin. In fact, the whole family decided to give it a go. We like it! I made our oatmeal as I normally do (I used the old fashioned long-time-to-cook kind) and then we added about 3 tablespoons of the pumpkin and just stirred it in with 1 t. brown sugar. 1/2 c. of the stuff only has 40 calories and provides a good amount of A (300% of RDA-80% of it in the form of beta carotene), Iron, protein and vitamin C but pretty low amounts of those and about 5 grams of fiber, though I’m not exactly sure on the amount. But the important thing is that it tasted good.

When we were in Michigan on business last week, we were at the hotel where they had an oatmeal “bar” of sorts: nuts, chocolate chips, brown sugar and raisins. I mentioned to my husband that I like some chocolate chips in my oatmeal from time to time, so he thought he’d try it. I sat down to eat and he came over with his bowl that, I swear, looked like cookie dough for haystack cookies. He had put 1/2 a CUP of chocolate chips in! Me? I put in 6 or 7 of the little guys. It looked disgusting but he said it tasted great. Whatever floats your boat, right?

*Calories today: 1369
*Exerciese: walked 30 minutes, WII about 20 minutes

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

