Buying new clothes

I’m in Oregon for 1 1/2 days, we had some business to wrap up here. So I’m sitting here in an amazingly beautiful old hotel, built in 1916, while the husband is out at a meeting. We’ll head back to WA in a few hours.

At the moment, I’m trying hard to complete a watercolor and also do the rewrites on chapters 1-3 of the book I’m taking with me to Indianapolis next week. Too much to do. I’m not going to get it all done, no matter what I do. Maybe I can pull both jobs off over the weekend. Oye! So, I thought, fine. I’ll update my blog. Cause that makes sense.

I was going to mention the 2 blouses, so here’s that bit of info:

I bought 2 cute blouses about 4 months ago, when I was 30 pounds heavier. I hung them in the closet at my Mom’s house in WA state and figured MAYBE I’d be able to fit into them someday. Maybe. Both were about 3″ from closing over my chest and stomach. Well, I remembered those 2 blouses the other day and pulled them out to try them on and, son of a gun, they both fit great! The pink one is in the picture above, the other is a button down orange top-my favorite color. I just love them both!

It’s been awhile since I had any new clothes. I’ve just been cycling through the same 3 pair of capri pants and about 8 tops over this summer. When I tried on those blouses and they fit and I felt GREAT, it sunk into my brain that I have hardly any clothes for the fall/winter. No coat, no sweaters and only one pair of pants…which I had also left at my Mother’s house in hopes that I could wear them someday. They fit, so I also have one pair of pants.

Well, I’m heading to a writing conference next week-with no clothes. So, I went shopping.

I really don’t like shopping much. Or, I didn’t. It was such a trip to buy clothes in the colors I wanted, in the styles I wanted, instead of buying what would fit-in the least offensive color and print available. I felt like a Barbie doll playing dress-up and it was FUN.

I bought a fancy 3 piece outfit for a banquet I’ll be attending at the conference, 3 pieces so that I can reuse them over and over again: a skirt, top and little jacket. I’m not a fancy girl, by any stretch of the imagination, so these three pieces, in black, will work great for me. They’re still nice, but much more “me”.

I got a pair of pants, two nice skirts, 5 tops and a jacket plus three cardigans and 3 new bras, which, as you can tell by the picture above, I really needed! Buying clothes that fit, that make me feel good about myself, makes me want to get on the ball and lose more.

I’ve been counting calories every day, eating good foods and getting in my exercise. Oatmeal for breakfast is my stellar way to start off the day. Every day I’m getting better and better at making good choices and at not being as tempted by social situations. It seems like those social situations are ALWAYS crouching around every corner, waiting to grab me. I’m finally getting that I have to learn to deal with with them because they’ll never go away. Such is life. You have to live within the frame of real life, no?

So, I’m not focusing on my weight in that I’m not going to sit with baited breath just waiting to post my weight every day, or even every week, but I AM on the move and I am working it and getting better and better at it. When I FINALLY do get under the 204 mark, trust me, the whole world will know.

I’m getting ready to do a 2 day long drive back from WA state to New Mexico, all by myself and I’m actually pretty nervous about that. So, if you’re a praying person, keep me in your prayers! I probably will update when I arrive sometime on Wednesday. After that, I’ll be flying to my writing conference in Indy on Thursday….till Monday, so you may not hear from me for another week. After that, things calm down. Thankfully!

I’ll be counting calories and working at making good choices.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buying new clothes

  1. am so very behind on your blog but at least I want to say how very lovely you are looking. well, you have always looked lovely to me, but you just look gorgeous and peaceful and insanely cute in that photo (love the blouse!!).

  2. Jennifer says:

    I’m hoping you had/have a nice drive (couldn’t tell exactly when you’d be leaving based on your post) but wanted to also comment that I like your pink blouse! It sounds like you had a nice shopping trip. As for me, my mom and I have been trading clothes. Even moreso than me, she is a pack rat. She has suitcases and boxes of clothes set aside and she even dug up the outfit I wore in my high school senior picture. It fits now! However, despite the joy I felt fitting into that outfit, I am definitely not going to include it in my wardrobe for “this size”. She thankfully had enough other more stylish stuff that helped to fill out my wardrobe and I didn’t have to resort to rehashing styles from the ’80s to clothe me in my current size. I actually would have liked to do a little shopping myself, but thought better of it in order to save my funds for the new wardrobe I get once I reach my goal weight.

Say Hi!

