Getting Started Again

Yesterday we spent our 29th anniversary in Seattle, our old hometown. We had the most enjoyable day ever! We went to church at our old church, with our dear friends, walked 3 miles around Green Lake (we used to live 2 blocks away from it and think of the lake as one of our favorite places in the whole world!) and then took a bus downtown (LOVE the bus!) and shared nachos at Murphy’s in Wallingford, then had homemade ice cream at Molly Moon’s down the street. We headed on to Pike Place Market on the bus for some tea that we love. It was a sublime day.

I’m soooo blessed to be with my husband for almost 3 decades. We’re perfect for each other. Now, onto the next 30 years.

So, I’ve decided. I’m…gulp…going to get started on the next 20 pounds. In thinking hard about it, I DO now think that I’ve been mentally blocked at around 204. I do want to get really healthy by losing that last chunk, but after about 2 decades at close to 300, it felt really impossible to want to be below 200. I think it just didn’t feel like “me”. Now, I’m starting to think that’s silly. It would just make me look better and feel healthier.

So, I’m taking steps. Slowly, and honestly, a little or a lot nervously, but I’m going to go forward now. I always count calories in my head, no matter what, but it’s been 2 months since I’ve recorded them every time I eat. I KNOW that is a part of why I stopped losing. Yesterday, I started using an application on my iphone to record them. That’s a great step forward for me and I’m proud of it.

I’m going to try to blog almost every day. I’ll be sporadic for a few weeks because next week I’m driving back to Albuquerque, then taking a plane to Indianapolis for 4 days for a writing conference at a big, fancy hotel. But, I’ll do my best, and then once things settle down-after the conference, I’ll commit to blogging every day for a few months.

My husband’s 52 birthday is October 14, in about 6 weeks. I’ve decided that I’d really love to get moving again in weight loss as a gift to him. YES, it IS for me, but it’s been stunningly amazing, how much MY weight loss has lightened OUR lives and caused us to be able to get out there and have SO MUCH FUN. So, I’ve been thinking it would be wonderful to get back on the ball and get losing by the time his birthday rolls around. So, that’s my goal. A sort of goal-less goal, as it were. Because I don’t care if I lose just ONE single pound, I just want to be solidly back into the game. I guess my goal would be, in a dream world, to get to 199 by October 14. But if I get even close, I’m going to be a happy woman.

I do have some interesting things to share about 2 blouses I found in my closet here at my Mom’s in Seattle, but I’ll share that tomorrow, ok?

Signing off. Back in the game!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Started Again

  1. Jennifer says:

    Welcome back to the rat race! 😉 I think 199 would be doable by the middle of October. In fact, the jump start you get from getting back into the swing of things will likely make the first pound or two come off quickly! Even though I know your lifestyle and choices have changed and you are generally very healthy and outgoing, counting those calories really will help with accountability!

Say Hi!

