August

I’ve been so busy this summer. I think that for the next several months, I’ll just plan on updating this blog around the 23rd of each month. I’ve been traveling so much and have many, many things on the table so this is the best I can do.

Hop over to my art blog and check out what I’ve been working on this past summer.

I’m at home in Albuquerque for the week then will head out to Seattle for 2 1/2 weeks, Indianapolis for a writing conference for one week, then home to Albuquerque for 2 weeks which will include a lovely vacation retreat to Ghost Ranch, this time, with my husband.

I’ve lost exactly ZERO pounds since July 23. It’s not that I don’t want to lose any more, exactly, it’s that I’ve been going to parties and camping and dinners out with so many friends and honestly, I’ve just been having a blast and just focusing on maintaining for this month. It just hasn’t felt like this is a great time to diet, you know? Plenty of time for that this fall. I’m having too much fun at the moment.

I’ve decided on a goal…at least an initial goal. I just can’t seem to feel the “buzz” and excitement about being THIN because I feel perfectly fine where I am. Hence, the not-really-wanting-to-work-hard. However, I’m still at 204 and want to get into the 100’s. I’ve decided to get to 199 so that I can NEVER AGAIN be in the 200’s and then after that, will just work on getting to around 195 or so…so that there’s a few pounds buffer to keep my from the 200’s and then after that? Honestly I just am happy with where I am.

In a few months or a few years, sure, I may change my mind. But I find I like the size 14 that I am. It suits me. I’m a big, tall girl and I feel just great like this. I have no expectations of being tiny, so I’m thinking this is just about it for me-once I get down into the 100’s.

You know, sometimes you just really want to work it and sometimes you don’t. I have no one to impress-my husband thinks I look great as I am. I’m turning 51 in a few weeks so hey, a size 14 at around 5′ 9″ at age 51 sounds good. Also, and maybe most importantly, I’m finding that I can easily eat around 2000 calories a day and maintain my weight. That’s so EASY! I like to eat. There, I said it! I like being able to have more calories to dink around with.

I’m finding the cycle is pretty normal: eat a little more than usual for 2-3 days, weight shoots up 2-3 pounds, resume my normal eating and it goes right back down within 2 days or so. If I had ANY idea that maintaining weight was this easy I would have worked on losing all the weight years ago. I thought I’d have to starve on 1200 calories a day for the rest of my life if I lost the weight. Silly me.

One day last week I ate a whole pound of chocolate. Not kidding. We went to a bulk store and bought a lot of chocolates and I was stuck on my own, waiting for my husband to get out of work…I shopped and ate chocolate. Not good. But the next 2 days? My body did NOT want lots of food. I ate less, everything returned to normal.

The thing I’ve learned that sort of stuns me is that you DO have to work really hard to gain weight and to maintain that weight gain. If you eat really healthy 95% of the time, your body just doesn’t WANT to eat crap all day long, every day. There was a time, for about 10+ years, where I could easily eat 3000-4000 calories of garbage a day. Now, I couldn’t manage that for even one day, let alone 7 in a row. My body likes clean foods!

So, I worry a LOT less now about gaining weight. I’m working on following the rule to never have more than one day in a row of bad eating…to work at balance. It’s actually pretty easy-a really big surprise.

I’m traveling a great deal in September, so if I don’t get back to update for a month, no worries, I will for sure update on the 23rd.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August

  1. Jennifer says:

    I think 195 would be great on you! With your height and body shape, I think you look great already — in fact, better than 176 looks on me! 😉

    Besides, no matter what the number, if you are happy with your self and your image, and how you feel, that is all that matters. The number on the scale really has little significance.

    Enjoy the balance you have created in your life and the chocolate treats you will have earned from time to time!

Say Hi!

