Going home to Albuquerque for a Week

I’m in a bit of a funk at the moment. We walked 6 1/2 miles on Monday, walking around Stony Creek Lake here in Michigan. I stopped being able to do that a few years ago so it was really great that I was able to easily do it. It was a huge moment for me.

It was really hot and muggy though, and that’s a bit hard on my MS. I was just a bit tired when we finished but was ok. But then, the next day, we rented non-shifting bikes and rode 6 1/2 miles in REAL heat and mugginess. I shouldn’t have gone when I wasn’t feeling at the top of my game, I know. I truly was trying to keep from crying – I thought I’d throw up for sure. I’m here to say that bikes that shift are really, really a GOOD IDEA! Bikes that don’t shift=hard, hard work!

So, today, I’m not feeling well and my weight jumped up 5 full pounds overnight…always a “side benefit” of the inflammation that accompanies an MS flare-up. Oh well. I don’t care. I’m so happy to have gotten out there and done it.

I’m learning to “adapt,” so what I learned this week is that we need to buy second set of bikes for our trips to Michigan so we won’t have to rent those clunky bikes again! We travel to Michigan so often, that we’ve decided to make a few changes to make our visits here a lot more doable. Now that I’m fit and able to do sporty things, I’m shocked at how many sporty things there are to do! We’d like to be able to do more of those things, from now on, but that does require us to buy some things and then comes the problem of “where to store” those things?

We get to home to Albuquerque for a week, then are coming back to Michigan for 2 ½ weeks and we’re thinking that when we come back to Michigan that we’ll buy 2 used bikes and will rent a small 5×10” storage unit so that we can store bikes, ice skates, a sled, and any other sporty things that will make the 4-5 months we spend here, each year, a lot more fun.

I really hope that if you aren’t into exercise, or if you’re really overweight, or if you have physical issues that keep you from being very active, that you simply will REFUSE to accept that. There are so many ways around the issues that keep us from participating in life.

When it’s really awfully muggy here in Michigan, it’s just impossible to get out there and walk a lot. So sometimes I have to go walking for a mile in the morning and then a mile in the evening…that is, when I don’t head to the gym. I always prefer being outside, to being inside. I’ve found that a 1/2 mile walk two to three times a day is 9 million % better than sitting in front of the TV. Sure, it’s not much, but it’s something. And what I’m learning is that it’s not about TODAY, it’s about the overall month.

Next week, we’ll be in the non-muggy high desert heat and I’ll enjoy my 4 mile walks in the mornings. When we come back to Michigan, I’ll do what I need to do to get exercise in spite of the things that get it in way. I think that if you look at the overall picture with an intention of living an active, fit lifestyle, that you’ll work things out.

Maybe not every day…but if it’s your intention to live actively, every day, by the end of the week you’ll almost certainly have gotten at least 4+ days of exercise in. I’m finding it’s just not all that hard and that I DON’T have to kill myself working out to be fit.

If you are one of those people who really work hard at it, cudos to you. But for me, I know that I always thought in order to lose the huge amount of weight I needed to lose and to keep it off…I thought I’d have to work out 2-3 hours a day and so I never wanted to even start! I’m so happy to say that that’s not true at all. A 30 minute to 1 hour walk is the norm for me. That’s it. Sometimes I get into running for a bit, but then return to walking. I know I should lift weights, but I don’t.

It’s just fun to swim and bike and walk and that’s all I need to do to stay healthy. For me, that’s enough.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

