Fly date coming up!

As I’m packing to head to Michigan for a month with my hubby, the thought occurs to me that…I’m going to be flying.

My whole weight loss adventure started off this past December, after I’d flown from Detroit to New Mexico in a 12 hour, 3 leg nightmare trip. It was NOT pleasant, because I was so fat and so uncomfortable. On that flight, I realized that I only had 2 options: quit traveling with my husband on his business trips (and never get to see him) or lose weight, and a lot of it. I opted to lose weight though I had no idea how I could ever actually pull it off.

I flew just one time after that, a short trip to Seattle after I’d lost about 27 pounds. So, when I was packing last night and I realized that I’m going to be flying again…all day long, next Tuesday, only this time, I weigh 75 pounds less! Wow…that was a wonderful realization. I’m so excited to just GO, to not have to worry and fret and fidget. I can’t believe that, as much as it’s possible to be comfortable on a plane, I will probably be. It makes all of my hard work worthwhile. So worthwhile!

I guess I’ll be able to take my 80 pound progress picture while we’re in Michigan because I still have the 5 pounds to go to make it to that milestone and I imagine that it will happen sometime in July. I’ll either come back and update at the 80 pound mark or around the 23rd because that seems to work well for me. I’m liking the idea of a once a month check in here, with additional visits when the spirit moves me.

I’m not exactly sure how it is that people can keep up a weight loss blog after they lose the weight because wow-that must take a lot of commitment to keep talking about fat and weight loss, week in and week out. I admire them. Because I’m a writer, it’s hard for me to spread myself so uber-thin in keeping up my writing blog and this blog, while I’m writing novels. This has become my little “side project” that keeps me healthy. I’m not abandoning my blog though! I like to think of it as-taking a break for the summer. There’s always time to jump back in and chat more. Right now, I’m playing!

Speaking of which. I hit a bad patch the past week and a half, when my MS symptoms rared up unexpectedly. I’m so much healthier now, that I keep going and going and wasn’t keyed into the normal signs that let me know I need to slow down and rest. So, I kept on and then CRASHED big time. I wasn’t able to exercise at AT ALL for the whole 10 days or so.

I was worried. I’ve not experienced this before…not working out. The good news, if it’s good news, is that I felt so bad that I could hardly eat, so, in the end, I didn’t lose any weight, but didn’t gain an ounce either. I’m learning to not be SO WORRIED about it all. I’m a changed person. I’ve developed excellent habits. I eat well at least 95% of the time. I now understand that one dinner out won’t kill me and one forced 10 day period of no exercise will not make me get fat again.

Tomorrow, my husband and I are taking our daughter to Carlsbad Caverns for her 28th birthday. We’re going to go hiking in the 54 degree caverns for a couple of days. The only other time I went to Carlsbad, I hiked there at a weight of close to 300 pounds and it was not easy! I’m so excited to go hiking now!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

