Back home in New Mexico

We had a wonderful trip at the Grand Canyon. My husband successfully completed the rim to rim hike, 21 miles, in 11 hours. I drove the 230 miles around to the other side of the canyon to pick him up. I was one glad woman when he came up the North Kiabob trail head-there were tears. I’ve been so worried about him…throughout the last 9 months of training and planning. Frankly, I’m glad that’s over. He’s now content to just do long hikes in the canyon, not crazy long hikes.

We loved camping alone, along the south rim. We can’t wait to go back for more in October. Unfortunately, our request to camp down in the canyon for 4-5 days was denied, so we’ve reapplied for October. If we aren’t one of the lucky ones chosen, we have plan A and plan B. Different hikes in the canyon, but coming up each day to camp on the rim. I really want the experience now, so I hope we get the whole enchilada.

I’ve changed my subtitle. I no longer want to lose a certain amount of weight. I’m not content to stop at a size 14 or a size 12 just because it’s “ok”. I want to be trim and fit and athletic and I don’t even know what that will look like. So, I’m not heading for any certain number anymore. I guess I’ll know when I get there.

As I sat waiting for Jeff to finish his hike, I saw a many different people coming out of the canyon who were in their 30’s, 40’s, 50’s, 60’s and Jeff even met an 80 year old doing the hike. It’s a HARD HIKE. The thing that all of those people had in common it that they were fit. They weren’t “ok”, they weren’t “acceptable”, they were wirey and fit and smaller. Jeff said that when he was doing the hike, he didn’t see anyone who was chubby or overweight. It’s just too hard to hike in the heat and exert so much effort because the bigger you are, the softer you are, the more effort you have to expend and the more difficult it is. I don’t want life to just be “ok” and I don’t want things to be “difficult”. I want to be fit and very healthy and I don’t even want to give thought to how hard something might be. So, I’m re-thinking my goals and I’m ok with that.

My husband flew back to Seattle this morning, will fly to California on Monday, back to Seattle next Monday and then on to Detroit or will stay in Seattle for a few more weeks. I have the luxury of staying home here in Albuquerque with my daughter for the next month. It’s 102 today and utterly beautiful!!

My son is flying to Seattle to spend 10 weeks with friends and working for the summer. So half of my family is scattered, but we’re all where we need and want to be at the moment. Though, if I could have anything, I’d rather be with my husband. Unfortunately, all of those trips translate into thousands of flying dollars for me, and that ain’t gonna happen. So, I’m very happy to be home and don’t even feel guilty about it!

Hope everyone is doing well. I should hit the 70 pound loss mark sometime in the next week or so. That’s something I’ve long been waiting for. I’m looking forward to spending this summer not being fat, for once. I’m so excited for what the next month will bring.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Albuquerque, Hiking, New Mexico. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

