Leaving for the Grand Canyon

This is a gorgeous sunset from the volcanoes behind our house in New Mexico.

We’re leaving first thing in the morning, heading to the Grand Canyon. We have a camp site all paid for on the South Rim-I think it’s the South Rim. Jeff is hiking all the way across the canyon, possibly on Wednesday, maybe Thursday. I’m pretty concerned about that but there’s nothing I can do about it. It’s one of his dreams and I want him to experience something that’s important to him.

I am now firmly in a size 14, no question about it. I feel so good and so happy with my body at this point. I have a ways to go, but I’m looking forward to getting there.

My latest food favorites:
Seitan, of course, seitan. I love the stuff. I find I prefer it cold now, cut up in chunks and dipped in a mix of catsup, hot mustard and BBQ sauce. It’s such a great protein source for me.
Sugar Snap Peas
Carrots
Nectarines
Blackberries
Strawberries
Apricots
old fashioned oatmeal: uncooked-with soy milk, pecans and raisins
Brown Rice
Lentils

I really enjoy food now. I love good food. I love healthy food that has no bad feelings attached to it. I feel proud of the way I eat now.

I love walking into a crowd of people and not standing out, even when I’m in a bathing suit. I spent two hours with hubby at the pool on Sunday afternoon and never gave what I looked like a moments notice. Never did I think that I’d have that in my life again.

I feel my focus has very much shifted to just day-to-day healthy living. I don’t have a lot to talk about right at the moment and I think this is a great sign. I don’t need to “talk myself through this” so that I get through each day or each week. I just get up in the morning and I know that I have only healthy foods in the house and I know what I’m going to eat each day. I also trust myself. If I want a teaspoon of peanut butter, I have it. I don’t worry that I’m going to eat the whole jar. That’s that ever been my thing anyway, but it is nice to just feel “normal”.

I’m learning to balance things quite nicely. When I’m not feeling well and therefore, can’t exercise, I cut the grains out of my diet for a few days and focus on fruits, vegetables and seitan. This is important for ME because sometimes I simply can’t get up and get around like I want to. I have to know that I can maintain a healthy diet and weight, and a healthy calorie count even when I’m feeling down. I’m learning what things I should eat on those “off” days and what things that don’t work for me. I guess that what I’m saying is that I’m learning what works for me, for my life, and that’s huge.

I won’t be able to update until the weekend because we won’t be arriving home in Albuquerque until Friday afternoon. When I come back, I’ll have some lovely pictures to share.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leaving for the Grand Canyon

  1. All of that sounds great. I hope you enjoy the grand canyon!

Say Hi!

