Weigh in day

I lost 1 pound this week, at the beginning of the week. I’m at 218 and have a 65 pound total loss now. I’ve gone from a 43% BMI to 33.1%. I’ve lost 23% of my body weight. I’m 60% of the way to my goal of 175.

Things are slowing down and I think I’m going to make a change. I don’t want to focus on the pounds anymore because there’s nothing I can do to hurry things along, except to start eating a lot less calories or exercise a lot more and I’m not going to do either. I’m at the point now where I’m not enjoying weighing in every Sunday because it’s not feeling productive. I can’t control the outcome, all I can control is my day to day behaviors so it’s not a good thing to focus on the only thing I can’t control…how many pounds I lose per week.

I’m going to experiment with something new for the next four weeks. I’m going to do a weekly accounting on Sundays of my daily calorie intake and my daily exercise instead of my weight loss. I think that at this point, it would be the most helpful way to go.

I feel it’s so important to focus on the behaviors, not the result, because I firmly believe that if you do the right things that you’ll automatically get the desired outcome.

This week I’ve been reading ‘Dr McDougall’s Maximum Weight Loss’ and I’ve found it really interesting. It’s actually the way I’ve been eating for months, a vegan diet, without the political attachments, well, attached. I eat vegan because I believe in eating healthy and I believe, like Daniel did, in the Old Testament, that it’s the way to good health. Especially because I have MS. Saturated fat in meat and dairy does a very, very bad number on me. When I stay completely away from it, I’m well almost all the time.

I’ve read Dr. McDougall’s books several times in the past, but in rereading it this book, I can see how totally committed I am to continuing to eat this way, for life. It’s so exciting to read about the things I should do and the things I shouldn’t do, in eating extremely healthy, and to know that I’m just about right on track.

The McDougall plan is basically a vegan diet (though it’s fine to eat anything you want on holidays, birthdays..and I like that) that’s focused on grains, vegetables and fruits. It’s low in fat and includes no meat or dairy, which is the way I eat anyway. If you don’t go along with this, that’s cool for you, you can do as much research to prove me wrong as I can do to prove it’s right. That’s the beauty of having so many foods on this earth-armed with knowledge, you can be sure to get enough protein and calcium from plant sources or from animal sources, depending on which way you want to go.

In any case, I feel it’s very important that now, I start crafting a way of eating and living that’s focused on the only thing that’s important: eating in a very healthy way, every day, at every meal, and exercising daily. Whatever weight loss follows is what follows. It can’t be the whole focus anymore. Yes, I am nervous about this. It feels safer to just focus on making the number on the scale keep going down. But since that’s not what this whole thing is about, I want to shift my focus and have to believe that in doing the right things every day, living in the way that I so wholeheartedly believe in, that I will see those numbers go down.

As I’ve mentioned many times, I belong to The Biggest Loser Club, online, and their recommendation for me is 1400-1750. I typically stick firmly at 1400 calories each day, so that’s my target for this week. I will probably keep weighing every day, because that’s what I do, but I’m not going to report on weight loss until around June 23, one month from now.

I’m hoping that if I do this, my mind will get that, even if I only see a 3 pound loss for the month (a great number), that that’s ALMOST a pound a week, and perfectly great. Living in the numbers on a week to week basis it doesn’t feel so good…”Less than a pound of weight loss this week?!?!” I want to live more in the big picture. A week doesn’t matter, it’s the month that matters, and the year that matters.

I’m not sure what’s going to happen this month, but it’s exciting to experiment with the process.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Weigh in Day, Weight Loss Stats and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

