Back in California

We left Albuquerque yesterday at 5 a.m. and drove straight to Manhattan Beach, a 12 hour drive. I’m not sure what’s up with the Arizona/California rest stops on our route, almost all of them had a “closed” sign across their exits, and a few had an abundance of weeds growing, so I’m quite sure they’d been closed for some time. I wonder if this is a sign of the economic times? It was odd. When we did manage to find rest stops that were open, (about 3, the whole over-800-mile trip, the line for the woman’s room was ridiculously long.

It was a good trip, with beautiful weather. We unrolled the windows in the truck and stared longingly at the New Mexico, Arizona and California mountains for hours. I always wonder why people ride in their cars with the windows rolled up and the air conditioner blowing. It’s so sad to insulate yourself that way from nature. I’m all about being out in nature, so maybe that’s just me-and the husband.

It’s the same at home in Albuquerque. I see walkers all the time in our large neighborhood, but they walk on the sidewalks, not out in the desert on the numerous dirt roads that cross the open-space. Again, I’m not sure why, probably fear of the unknown. I can walk for 2 or 3 hours out in the desert on a Saturday, never more than a mile from home by taking intersecting and criss-crossing roads, and I almost never see a soul the whole time I’m out.

I wish more people would open their windows and get outside and see that there’s very little to fear. Coyotes and jack rabbits run away the second they glimpse me and it’s not like there are any trees for bad guys to lurk behind, lying in wait. There aren’t any trees.

Where I sit, right now, in our hotel suite, I can see a woman getting her walking in while she talks on her cell phone. She’s literally circling the building, walking round and round it. There’s a park about one mile away from here. I wish people would be more creative and would want to explore.

I need to get to work, it’s just short of 7 a.m. and I have much on my plate this morning. Have a good Monday.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

