Saturday Reflection

I’ve been almost illegally happy this week. The weather has been beautiful and I’ve been able to spend this Mother’s Day week at home with my grown kids. Of course they tease and taunt me unmercifully because, sadly, I have passed my twisted sense of humor onto them and now it’s payback time. They both think it’s hilarious that I eat molasses on my homemade whole wheat bread, which weighs about a “ton” according to my son. They mock me for going to bed at 6:30 because after walking miles and miles each day, I’m so tired! They both say it’s just a matter of time before I start drinking prune juice and talking about the bunions on my feet.

Speaking of feet:

Yes, that is duct tape. I’ve walked about 9 miles every single day this week and my feet are telling the tale. You’d think I wouldn’t get blisters anymore, as much as I walk, but walking in the sand seems to create more foot movement within my sneakers and wallah, blisters! But I will not be stopped, no way. One of my toes lost half of the skin down to a depth of almost 1/4″, which is so gross, I know.

I just taped my feet up and went back out the door. The tape/paper towel patch, effectively creates a second-skin that works a treat. I know you don’t believe me but you have to try it. Why be sidelined for three or four days by a dumb little (or huge) blister, when you can get right back out there and have fun?

Tomorrow, (on the actual REAL Saturday-I’m always doing these posts early, aren’t I?) the hubby is going to hike up Sandia Mountain and then back down again in a 6-8 hour hike, while I go on a 2 hour hike on the low-lands with my slightly-less-insane daughter.

Exhibit A, or “Where I will not be walking”.

Exhibit B See the flatty-flatness of this landscape? This is what we call “appropriate”.

I had mentioned that I was going to switch my weigh-in day to Saturday and then later this week, when I was walking and thinking, I realized, that is not a good idea, not at all. I like Sunday as a weigh-in day because it gives me a reminder that Saturday is not a free-for-all eating day. I know me. If I weighed on Saturday morning, my head would be all, “You can totally eat that pizza, after all, you don’t have to weigh in again for like 7 whole days. Eat what you want today, and SUNDAY TOO and then you can get back to work on Monday.” My head is such a freakin’ liar.

If you want more reading content: Here’s an article that I wrote on “Beginning an Exercise Program”.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Hiking, Saturday Reflections, Weigh in Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday Reflection

  1. Pingback: Foot Problems 101

Say Hi!

