More than halfway to goal!!!

This morning I weighed 222. I’ve lost 61 pounds, just flying by that 225 that I wanted so badly. I’m really pleased that I’m now just 23 pounds shy of being in the 100’s. Wow. Just wow. I washed my size 18’s and bagged them up to give them away and am in my new size 16 pants. I’m getting to be extravagant now, I have TWO pair of pants to wear, one brown and one khaki pair of 16’s.

I’m going to prevail upon my husband to take my progress pictures when we go out walking in the desert today, so I’ll post those later this week. We’ll be here in New Mexico until Sunday morning, when we’ll be driving back to the LA area for a month. I’m so pleased that I get to do my 60 pound progress pictures here at home, in Albuquerque.

I’m so pleased to find that weight loss is receding to the nether-reaches of my mind. There was a time, for years, that being fat and desperately wanting to lose weight just filled my mind and soul. Lately, I find myself hardly giving it a thought. There are so many more great things in my life now, because of the weight loss, to be sure. It’s so great to live in those things now…not in the daily torture of my fat.

Sometimes though, I forget how precious this journey is. Today I finally got to watch the Biggest Loser’s last week show, on line and as always, it made me cry, several times. This is a privilege to get to do this, it’s so huge, so wonderful and such a BIG thing to take on a challenge like this and to see it through. But, weight loss isn’t one challenge, it’s 10,000 challenges all strung together and each time you achieve one, it’s another incredible moment of realizing that you CAN be your own hero. Truly, it’s amazing.

Jeff and I were walking in the desert last night and we were able to see, very clearly, that the place we are going to retire to…the Las Cruces, NM area, in 3 years and 11 months (!!!!) is no longer exactly what we want. We both enjoy being outside so much now, and love walking SO MUCH, that we’ve decided that the convenience of being closer in to a town, just doesn’t matter as much anymore. More to the point, I suppose, is that it doesn’t fit the ideal of our lives anymore.

We’ve decided to buy land out further, maybe as much as 20-30 minutes out past Las Cruces, so we can be out on the dirt road areas we love, or at the very least, lightly traveled black-top roads.

Being out in nature is so important to me, I think it’s what 90% of my being is made up of. It’s an amazing thing to make future decisions that are this important, based on what we WANT, not on what is convenient. In losing weight and getting fit, both of us, actually, we are reminded of what we’re capable, of, what we can do and of what’s possible.

Last year, it seemed very important to be close to town and stores and conveniences, now it seems so much more important to be OUT in nature, with as much land as possible, in an area that makes it easily conducive to being outdoor people, where we’ll be able to take on the challenge of building our home, ourselves. I can’t say clearly enough, how important it is to have discovered that this is possible and doable. I feel hugely blessed and excited for the future. It’s astounding what being healthy can open your mind to.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Goals, Good news, Los Cruces, New Mexico, Weight Loss Stats and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More than halfway to goal!!!

  1. Awesome job!! You won’t be wearing those size sixteens for long I’m sure!!!

Say Hi!

