Saturday Reflection and weigh-in day

It’s been a good week but also interesting, in my head anyway. This week I started feeling like, I’m not really sure I can do this anymore, this weight loss thing, I’m just not working very hard at it-at all. I know that I’m not going to be able to achieve my goal if I’m not working HARD at it it. Then a funny thing happened. I lost 3 pounds this week anyway, even though I wasn’t “working hard” at it.

The thing that I’m starting to realize is that when you make fitness and healthy eating a part of your life, there isn’t any “work” that you do, you just live, you just go about your day and you don’t even have to think about it-your body just keeps losing weight.

For me, this wouldn’t be possible if I spent my days longing for pizza and hot dogs and nachos, and planning out how I could have some-when I could fit it in. That takes so much work and for ME, that makes this way of living be a diet, something I’m doing for a time that I’ll stop at some point. That’s not going to work for me. If it does for you, great, I’m admiring your strength of will. It doesn’t work for me. What works for me is accepting that this is the way I want to live, forever. I don’t have a portion of my life that I “allow myself” fast food and Doritos and brownies. I don’t have that mindset. I don’t want those things in my life.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t have things that are not healthy sometimes, I just don’t think of it as “getting away with something”. I think of it as a normal part of life, but something that’s rare. If I had chocolate, or a Black Butte Beer or a slice of pizza every day, but just one, for me, that wouldn’t work. My brain and insulin kicks into overdrive and I would want more, more, more. I have one or two things a week that I don’t normally eat every day, and that works for me.

But my point is that it makes it not be so HARD and I like that. I want to go through each week feeling almost guilty for “not working at the weight loss thing”. I want it to be so much a part of my life that it’s just that, a part of my life. Lately it’s been feeling like that, just a part of my life. I like that and I want it to continue.

I’m going to shift to updating the blog only a couple of times a week. It’s becoming a bit of a burden to update it so frequently and my mindset wants to move to a place where the weight loss, the blogging, the exercise, is just another thing I do…I don’t feel the need to blog every single day anymore, I don’t feel like I’m hanging on by my fingernails to this weight loss ride. I’ve been much more enjoying working on my other blog where I get to talk about homesteading and voluntary simplicity living and farming, all of the things I’m so passionate about. So, I’ll work out a schedule for posting on my weight loss blog and will keep that up. I’m thinking of Monday, Wednesday and Saturday, and moving my weigh-in day to Saturday.

So for my first Saturday weigh in:
I’ve lost 3 pounds this week
Total of: 55 pounds with 60 pounds to go! (almost to the halfway point!)
I started out at 43% body fat and am now at 34.7%
I’ve lost 19.4% of my body weight

All great things. I hope you all have a super weekend. I’m leaving now to go hiking up in the San Gabriel mountains today!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Hiking, Saturday Reflections, Weigh in Day, Weight Loss Stats and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Reflection and weigh-in day

  1. Jennifer says:

    I didn’t realize that you had lost a substantial amount of weight before and then regained again. You mention that your style and what works for you is to simply eliminate brownies and Doritos and fast food, that if you allowed yourself “some” you would just want more.

    Forgive me if you’ve already mentioned it, but what was the reason for regaining the weight you had lost previously? Something emotional? The way you saw food then was different than the way you see it now?

    To me, it sounds like you have a lot of control. I’m wondering what went wrong last time or if you fear the same thing will happen again? Oddly enough, right now I am 66 pounds down from when I started my current diet. But, I have lost this much weight once before, only to regain most of it. Right now, I don’t envision myself letting that happen again. I have made a promise to myself that I will never be 10 pounds heavier than my lowest weight. So, right now I weigh 202. I never want to be above 212 again. If I yo-yo or fall into a rut, I have to turn things around and get back on track before the ‘slip’ turns into a great big slide. So far, I haven’t fluctuated more than a few pounds and didn’t really even think about having to rebound so far, but a tiny part of me still worries that it could happen. I think I would be devastated.

  2. Ah, good question Jennifer. Well, to be entirely honest, it was emotional. I was 39 years old and as I hit a size 12, men started coming out of the woodwork, hitting on me like crazy. That sounds odd, doesn’t it? My husband and I were not in a good place at that time and it was really hard. I was asked out so many times it was ridiculous and confusing and upsetting…and confusing and confusing. Once, at a stop light, a guy in his late 20’s pulled up and asked me to go for coffee. I told him I was married and he said, “So? I am too.” Those kinds of things were really hard for me to deal with, it was completely out of my scope of reality. I kept the weight off for just a few months, then over about 7 years I gained it back about 15 pounds each year.

    What’s different this time for me is my husband and I are as happy as kids together and I’m FIFTY now, so I’ve pretty much become “invisible” in this society and I rather like that. I’m just a granny now, without having a grandchild.

    My eating now is about the same as it was when I lost weight before, but back then I allowed myself a little more flexibility in eating things that weren’t good for me–but then I was a lot younger then, when you get older I don’t think you really WANT the things you used to want. I think overall, things are about the same. I believe that because I took several years to actually gain the entire weight back that it means I learned a LOT about eating and good healthy during that time. I don’t see it as a problem at all this time because I’m a different person this time around, happier and more stable with a very clear outlook on life.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the very honest reply. It makes sense. I have no doubt your loss will be permanent this time. 🙂

Say Hi!

