Walking and Eating Good Foods

Poor husband worked for 12 hours yesterday and as usual, was paid for 8, such is life. I spent a lot of time on my own because he was gone all day so I got a lot of work done. At 6 pm I finally stopped and went outside for a long walk and then thought…doh! You nut! You’re in California, and you spent the WHOLE day inside? I like to leave the doors and windows open wherever I am so I can feel the outside, I guess my mind just never got to the fact that I wasn’t actually out there. A hotel employee came up to make sure I was ok since the doors had been open all day long. I do the same thing at home in New Mexico. Everyone else pays their $300 a month for constant air conditioning-even when they’re at work, so they don’t have to come home to a “hot house”. I’d rather sweat a little and feel the outdoor air blowing in.

Anyway, I took a long walk in the area, through neighborhoods. I walked for 3 miles and SAW the ocean down below, but just never made it over there. I was having fun looking at the houses and yard plants. Real estate is so strange. One house I saw yeseterday, smaller than ours in Albuquerque, was in escrow, having sold for $1.6 million. In Seattle, a house like that, which was similar to our house in NM would have cost us around $700,000, in New Mexico, it cost $250,000-one of the reasons we left Seattle.

Here are a couple of shots. I have no idea what these plants are, but they’re cool! The picture shows them as sort of purple-y but there were actually black.

I love all of the bamboo that people use as “divider” plants. This isn’t a good picture here, but I wanted to show you anyway. Lots of bamboo in the area is twice as tall as this:

Things are really quite boring on the weight loss fronts. No high highs and no low lows, so I just don’t have much to talk about! I’m continuing on with our normal diets, which pretty much consist of:

1/2 c. Old Fashioned oatmeal cooked with 1 1/2 cups of water for a good sized portion of grain for breakfast with 1 t. boiled molasses for a little sweetness and a good dose of iron, and several pieces of fruit throughout the day plus a slice of homemade wheat bread with almond butter for snacks. I usually have some seitan for lunch, dipped in a mix of veganaise/catsup/mustard, and some fresh veggies on the side like carrots, broccoli and sweet peas, and maybe a piece of fruit. For dinner I always make us each a huge salad with vegan deli meats sliced up, alfalfa sprouts, raw veggies, nutritional yeast (which I’ll eat on ANYTHING, I love it so much!) and balsmic vinegar and olive oil. I know, we’re so boring. Seriously, I know we eat great food and it tastes so good, it’s just not orgasmic free-for-all-eating anymore!

I’m having 1400 calories each day and am making sure I come close to that without going over, so I’m all good there. I feel great and am not hungry. If I DO start to get hungry, I immediately head for a lite snack of whole food. I’ve been surprised to find that you don’t have to eat much when you think you’re DYING of hunger, you usually just need a healthy snack with a good amount of fiber (not some stupid processed food that’s like eating a puff of air) of a couple hundred calories and your body is great to go again.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walking and Eating Good Foods

  1. Jennifer says:

    Wow! Those are beautiful flowers. I was just trying to explain to my husband yesterday how envious I was of your ability to travel with your hubby and how beautiful your surroundings were. Truly an inspiration! For exercise… for painting… for all the things you enjoy. You can’t help but feel good when so many inspiring things are around you!

    Then I thought… you know, beauty is all around us. Just different types of beauty. Here in Wisconsin we don’t have the blessing of tropical weather or vast expanse or ocean views. But, we do have rolling hilly farmland and, in the winter, icy tree limbs that sparkle in the bright sunlight. We have state forests that are just beautiful.

  2. Oh, I LOVE seeing pictures from Wisconsin! I’ve never been there in person though, it’s one of the few states I haven’t been able to visit. First, I love farmland and second, I love trees. I’d love to see some pictures of where you live on your blog!

    Great thoughts and so true. Happiness is where we find it 🙂

  3. What a beautiful place! Those pictures are just amazing.

    I think your food sounds really solid. It sounds like you are being very consistent and that’s what gets the job done!

Say Hi!

