Saturday’s Reflection-A day early

I made dandelion jelly yesterday! I’ve always wanted to do it. So cool! It tastes like honey, without the bees. All it took was 240 blossoms, which I picked in less than 5 minutes.

We’re leaving for LA tomorrow morning at 5 a.m., driving our pickup down there, so I’ve been spending the past 2 days not sleeping much and preparing to go on a trip that will keep us out for 6 weeks to 2 months or more.

I have to pack for California, New Mexico and our Grand Canyon trip. Now seriously, how do you even do that? Oh yes, and all of the stuff we pack in the back of the truck has to be able to fit in the FRONT of the truck when we spend the night in a hotel on the way down. This makes for interesting, sleepless nights of wondering how I’m going to pull this off. This will be my last post here until sometime on Monday, so check back here around then for some travel pictures!

We’re going to be staying a 1/2 mile from the beach while we’re in the LA area so I’m looking forward to lots and lots of walking in the sunshine! It turns out our trip there may be 6 weeks total, with a trip to New Mexico in the middle. This is why my life is so interesting. I never know where I’m going to be from one week to the next. Lucky for me (and my husband-because WOW) that I actually like rolling with things like this.

Since I won’t be around for a weigh-in on Sunday, I think I’ll just report now that I’ve lost 2 pounds. I’m down to 231, just a breath away from the 220’s which I’ve wanted for so…many…years.

I’m finding myself shifting my focus lately, which is actually a really good thing. I’m doing a lot of posting on another blog, on alternative living: ie-housing, sustainability, good old fashioned farm stuff that I love so much. I took my own advice and stopped focusing all of my attention on weight loss and started expanding my eye to the things I really love and want to embrace! This is making the weight loss journey just another THING that I’m doing. It’s not the be-all and end-all of my life. I think that’s grand. I’m just doing the work and reaping the benefits now, not hanging on and waiting breathlessly for another pound lost. It feels so much better to just do the work and focus on the things that I love. I know that this means I’m “getting it” now. I’m in the groove and can afford to start taking on new challenges. I love that!

For several days at the end of last week and the beginning of this week I was REALLY hungry. I’ve never been hungry since I started losing weight so I couldn’t figure out what was up. My food logs came into play in such a wonderful way. I’m SO GLAD I keep food logs!

I sat down and went over them carefully to see if something had changed, and it had-a subtle shift, but a shift. Remember when I went to veg fest and got all of those cool, free products? Well, I packed them up and sent them off to work with my husband, only keeping a few items at home. It was all processed foods and I just didn’t want it.

As an example of what went wrong this week: I had a package of some kind of chips…some healthy kind. For a snack one day, I had half of that little bag for 120 calories total. That ONE thing made my day horrible. 120 calories for about 12 puffs of air? NOT a good caloric choice. I could have had 2 small oranges or apples for that calorie count, and I usually do. That same day I had one other item, I think a Lara bar-a mini one for 120 calories. Trust me, it did NOT work for me.

Same thing as I went through about 4 days of my logs. Just making some poor choices that were still good foods (like a vegan cheese) but not healthy whole foods that would fill me up and give me lots of energy. I do NOT like to be hungry, won’t have it! As a result of this, I made the decision to watch more carefully what I eat and to up my calorie count by 100 to 200. I’ve also been changing my exercise to a more manageable amount that I’ll be able to continue doing for the rest of my life.

I’ve committed to doing those things that I can sustain. That’s what’s important to me. In checking back over my logs, I could see I have a LOT of exercise logged. That’s a very good thing, but I know that it’s not really likely I’m going to be able to keep up 6 miles of walking plus a yoga class in the same day, you know?

I was actually pretty scared about approaching this week because I committed to just “watching the process” to see what would occur if I upped my calories a little bit and changed my exercise to something along the lines of 3-4 miles of walking 7 days a week with 2-3 days of weights each week (I only do 10-15 minutes).

I was really surprised to see that I actually lost 2 pounds pretty much at the beginning of the week and it never came back. Usually my weight bounces up and down all week long, finally settling at THE number after 5-6 days.

I watched to see if I was hungry or overly tired, monitoring carefully, adding in some veggies or protein or grains if I felt the need, finding a good balance for the exercise.

I feel it’s of major importance to find the balance and not freak out over it. It’s one thing to gut it out and manage to have a will of steel in order to lose a lot of weight, it’s a whole other ball game to keep it off. If I want to keep it off, I have to do what’s manageable for a lifetime and I’m starting to come to get that. I’m starting to trust myself more and now, I’m starting to be able to incorporate the whole thing into my life…without making weight loss BE my life.

I hope you all have a great weekend. I’ve packed my size 16 pants and am looking forward to taking my progress pictures for the next 10 pounds in sunny California!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Goals, Inner growth. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday’s Reflection-A day early

  1. I’ve never heard of making dandelion jelly! We certainly have a lot of dandelions around here right now!

    Have a wonderful trip – you will have balance and a great time!

Say Hi!

