Bones

Georgia O’Keeffe is the one person I wish I could meet. It makes me ache to know she’s gone and that I’ll never get the chance. I live about 2 hours from her Ghost Ranch home in New Mexico so I go up to spend a day or two many times a year; it’s truly the best place I’ve ever been and I leave each time with a renewed spirit and clear focus on life.

Ms. O’Keeffe loved collecting bones in the desert around her home, Rancho De Los Burros, which is nestled in among the painted hills of Abiquiu. She used the bones in many paintings in the latter part of her life and she always found it odd when people wondered why she liked painting “death”. She said that the bones made her think of LIFE, that they were beautiful to her.

My bones are surprising me. I scratch my forearm and find a long narrow bone that I don’t ever remember being there, I rub my shoulder and instead of a thick padding, I feel my shoulder joint quite clearly, my hips bones are now prominent, I can feel them as I slip my hands into my jeans pocket and it surprises and pleases me every time.

I wonder if my bones feel relief not having to carry such a heavy load now. I wonder how they’ll feel in six months when I’ll be able to move with ease with half of my body weight gone?

I feel like a sculptor, carving away the bits that aren’t needed so that the real beauty can come out, like my bones are starting to do. I’m starting to see how special this process is and why it’s worth waiting for. Seeing and feeling my bones after ten years of not having any evidence that they were there is a promise of what’s to come. I feel like I’m getting a real, working body back and I’m coming to appreciate all of it’s parts.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth, New Mexico. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bones

  1. Jennifer says:

    Great post! I like how you combined multiple aspects of your life, your interests and how weight loss has impacted your life. I can relate totally! I occasionally feel myself massaging my own shoulders just to feel the pronounced bones that were kind of buried not too long ago. And, it is much easier to scratch the center of my back, all up and down, because there’s not as much to the “sides” of me that used to get in the way! šŸ™‚

  2. pinkymcpie says:

    I love Georgia O’Keefe and I feel your pain of never getting the chance to meet her. And I love the magic feeling of Abiquiu. I haven’t been there for YEARS though.

    Discovering yourself, your bones, your body – it’s an art unto itself šŸ™‚

Say Hi!

