Walking and Talking

Yesterday, after work, Jeff and I walked 4 miles and talked and unwound from the day; 4 miles is a lot of talking time and a lot of walking time. We talked a lot about acceptance of things on a day to day basis and how, in the end, overall, things simply don’t matter as much as we make them out to matter.

We discussed Ben Franklin and Thomas Edison and how much they’d contributed to the world and how as average people in the USA, we don’t really contribute a lot to our society. When we’re gone, the people who love us will mourn us of course, but overall in the grand scheme of things it won’t matter that much that we’re gone. I’m not saying that we, as people, don’t matter, but I think that we believe that every single little issue in life is a mountain when it’s not.

I’m 50 now and Jeff is 51, and while we’ve both grown tremendously as people over the years, there are issues that are prickly to us individually that we both realize we’ve been dealing with since we were 17. I think that sometimes “acceptance” is in order.

I’m always so focused on the future that I forget to appreciate the day at hand and the joys it brings. I want to do more of that. I want the things that I want not to matter as much as I think that they do. In 10 years, God willing, I’ll be 60 and I’m sure that I’ll have grown more by that time and that I’ll still be dealing with some of the same issues, as if I must take care of those things RIGHT NOW.

I know that it doesn’t matter how many pounds I weigh today, really, it doesn’t. I’m healthier now, so much healthier, and happier now that I’ve lost 50 pounds. I need to lose 65 more, that’s a lot of pounds.

There are other things at play in my life. I get really frustrated with not being able to be at my home in New Mexico; being away for more than a month at a time, many times during a 12 month period is difficult to do. I truly do want to kick back at time and make it do what I want it to do; I need to accept the timetable of things a lot better than I do right now.

I’m exploring new possibilities this week, possibilities that force me to trust myself and the process and the future and it’s hard for me, very hard, but I truly want to come out on the other side, next year, a better person than I have been in recent years. I know that requires changes in many areas, mostly in my attitude.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walking and Talking

  1. Sam says:

    I understand the feeling of being somewhat content where you are even though there is so much further to go. It is awesome you are out walking. That is something I need to get my family into doing. That, after all, the whole point of this journey.

    It is great to get to a point where you feel healthier and pounds do not matter as much…. and at least the pounds can continue to motivate you if you fall back some.

  2. pinkymcpie says:

    this is such a beautiful, inspiring and insightful post Katie!

    I have been thinking about Acceptance for weeks and weeks now… You are 50… I am 41… God Willing when I am 50 I hope that I too have grown and changed and become the person that I really want to be. And I want to also be PRESENT and find joy in my life in the moment.

    If we are thinking about it, wanting it, willing to change for it, it will happen.

  3. Thanks Sam, and YES, go out and take a short walk with your family right now, today. Walking is so meditative that it allows you to tap into a part of your brain you might not have…it really helps you to enjoy the people you’re with at the moment!

    Renee, I really believe that, what you said about wanting it and being willing to change for it. I have, have, have to remember that when I’m locked in that impatient cycle and work on having more trust in things that are outside of my control. Sigh. But I LOVE being in control of everything!

Say Hi!

