The Art of Gratefulness

I took this picture yesterday at Green Lake in Seattle. Look, can you see all the turtles sunning themselves with their necks stuck up toward the sky? So sweet! I love that we know about this little stop beside the trail which visitors to Seattle normally hustle on by. It’s one of those lovely benefits that come from having lived in and loved an area so much in the past. On this particular day there were 15 turtles out-some are on a back log at an angle the camera didn’t catch. I think the record that we’ve seen was 25 of those bad boys.

Yesterday when we were at church with all of our friends in Seattle, a small, very relaxed group of people we’ve known and loved for 4 years now, it re-occurred to me how grateful I am to be able to live the life I do, traveling around making friends all over the country and seeing beautiful things almost every day, new things, exciting things that a lot of people who work a “normal” job don’t get to experience. I forget that sometimes. The rain and the inconvieniences get in the way and I forget to be grateful.

It got me thinking about The Art of Gratefulness and how it can affect weight loss and the life-changing things that need to take place in my head and in my habits in order to create a fit life that “sticks”. I was reminded of the truth: “Whatever you think on expands.” That’s such a huge statement. I challenge you to think about that this week and see if it resounds with you on your weight loss journey.

What makes one person be able to lose 100 pounds fairly “easily” while for another it’s a gut-wrenching journey that seems to take forever? Attitude. An elderly man I know told me about 100 times that EVERYTHING boils down to attitude. I think that’s also a true statement.

If what you think of is the negatives: what you “can’t have,” how long it’s going to take, how “unfair” it is, how S-L-O-W the going is, then your mind WILL look for evidence to back that up and it’ll do it on a daily and hourly basis until you have convinced yourself that yes, this IS too hard and you DO deserve those M&M’s because darn it, you’ve had a crappy day.

OR, you can focus on how light you feel, how proud you feel of yourself for the changes you’ve made, how many things you’re able to do now that you couldn’t do six months ago, on the potential for your life in the coming decades.

Whatever you focus on will expand. Expand the things that you cherish and have already accomplished and are so happy about…with patience and compassion for yourself, and see what happens in a month.

I’m committed for the rest of this month, to focusing on the positive and on what’s already changed for me. I honestly would rather be happy and hopeful than angry and crying over these pounds of fat. I’m going to give that a solid go and will write in my journal each day about the things I’m grateful for each day.

Have you made this mind shift a permanent part of your life in some areas or in every area?

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Art of Gratefulness

  1. It really is about attitude and making the shift. That being said, there are often a lot of emotions that can get in the way – I know this first hand.

    Beautiful picture and post.

  2. You’re so right Diane, I think that dealing with the emotions is a huge key to not only weight loss but to all growth in general.

  3. pinkymcpie says:

    I do agree with you and Diane. My emotions have really gotten in the way lately and that does affect my general daily positive attitude.

    Most important thing is that we figure out what’s most important and most definitely what we are grateful for (thanks for the reminder!). I’m going to start doing that!!

    LOVE the turtles! Have you seen my latest post? I love this kind of stuff so much!! how lucky you are to stumble across these amazing creatures!!

Say Hi!

