Running Skirt Blues

My husband works for a big airplane building company in Seattle and he speaks in that odd business type talk: “What’s the deal with the AML? How many SQWACKS are there on the 841’s?” He can go on like that for minutes and I SWEAR he makes that stuff up on the spot. I’m not even sure he knows what he’s talking about. Sometimes he forgets who he’s talking to…ME…an actual live human being who doesn’t build airplanes and he uses his biz talk on me, which is totally frustrating. Case in point, yesterday at REI when we were shopping in different areas of the store and lost each other. I thought I remembered the terms he used so I tried using one when I started texting him:

Me: “1040”?

Reply: “IRS”?

Me: “Jerk”.

Reply: “Seriously, I have no idea what you mean…”

Me: “Where ARE you?”

Reply: “But yes…I am a jerk.”

Jeff came up behind me as I was texting and I looked at the phone and looked at him and then I looked back at the phone. Eep!!! It wasn’t Jeff that I was texting, it was my poor sister who now thinks I’m crazy.

Me: “Oh!! I thought you were Jeff!! Sorry!!! I couldn’t find him in the store and I thought it was him texting me.”

Sister: “Ah!”

Me: “See how mean I am to him? He’s laughing his butt off at me now. Also he told me it’s not 1040 it’s ‘What’s your 20’, which apparently means ‘Where are you?’ in boy-speak.”

Yes, I am completely embarrassed, but since I’ve completely embarrassed myself 6 million times, I’m used to it.

I wanted to revisit our trip to REI on Sunday because I wanted to mention my great running skirt! Which I didn’t buy. Because it looked so horrible on me. Sadly.

I tried on a running skirt in an X-large, which fit just beautifully, and THEN, I saw my legs. Sheeze Louise!!! What happened to my legs?? You know how you just sort of casually glance at your legs and never really take them in? Well, go try on a running skirt which hits you at mid thigh, effectively acting like a huge neon arrow which is pointing directly at the cellulite that encases your legs. Not. Fun. The back of my legs looks pretty good, but the front? What the heck?

I then remembered that 10 years ago when I weighed 300 pounds and lost down to 178, my legs looked pretty bad into the 230’s or so and then with all of the running and walking, as I dropped lower, all of a sudden the fat was gone and the muscle was lean and my legs were beautiful! I want those legs back. I wonder how much of a difference 10 years will make?

Sadly, I put the running skirt back on the rack. But now, I’ll go back to REI and try on a skirt every 20 pounds or so until my legs look good in the skirt. A new goal is born. Plus, they had an ORANGE print skirt and I MUST have it. So now, strangely, I find myself wanting to wear cool running skirts even MORE than I want to lose the weight! Perhaps I have found a powerful new motivator?

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Aides/Tools, Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!