REA Store and Hiking Pictures

After we walked around Green Lake yesterday, we headed to REA’s Flagship store in Seattle. I took a couple of pictures there because it’s such an impressive store. The pictures aren’t good though, sorry!

This is the waterfall that they built outside the store:

These are the handles to the front door. I love them! :

The huge climbing wall, easily visible from I-5:

Huge fireplace inside, with rock seating:

One shot of the inside of this huge store:

The staff here is just wonderful. They don’t work on commission and so they don’t try to shove equipment at you, instead, they educate and educate and educate. They LOVE to talk about outdoor activities and if they don’t know something, they’ll look it up for you.

Yesterday we bought some of the equipment we’re going to need for our first trip to the Grand Canyon in May. We bought a small 2 man tent, Jeff’s sleeping bag, hiking hats for us both, more hiking socks and hiking poles (yay!). It was quite fun because we had 2 gift cards, Jeff’s a member of REI so he had a rebate coming to him from last years purchases, plus he got a 20% discount on one item and yesterday *I* became a member!!! I’m so excited about that. I have my own REI membership now and this thrills me 🙂 I got a 20% discount too, as a new member. Overall, we got so much in the way of discounts and gift cards, that we got our $179 tent for free! Not bad, huh???

We spent $400 on the rest of the gear, which sounds pretty bad but as we were driving home I was doing some calculating in my noggin. I gave up my horrible addiction to diet soda in December…a lifelong monkey on my back. I easily spent about $600 or more per year on diet sodas! I realized that just by virtue of having given up buying sodas for this year, we essentially got all of that gear for free. I realized in that moment, that living a good, healthy lifestyle, pays you back in so many ways and I don’t think I’ve begun to see all of those ways yet.

We’ll be using that equipment for the next 20 years. Can you believe that in 20 years time we’ll save an additional $12,000 dollars because I gave up drinking Diet Cokes? That’s insane! Wow. It’s sort of awe inspiring in a sick way. That doesn’t take into account what money we’re saving by not eating out, not buying Doritos or donuts or bagels. It’s shocking. You can actually take your money and buy something USEFUL with it, something health-and-happiness-inducing that will last for years. Eat your money or spend it on something great? Such an interesting realization. I don’t feel one bit bad for spending money on good, quality fitness gear now!

Oh, as a new member, I also got a free coupon to do the huge rock wall. I’m not sure if I’m going to do it but I’m not sure I’m NOT going to do it. It never expires, so I’m going to hold onto it and think about whether or not I’d like to add it to my list of goals.

As promised, I’m going to share some pictures from our Saturday hike in Green Water, WA. It was way back into the boondocks so it took about 40 minutes to drive there, but it was probably the best, most beautiful hike I’ve ever been on in my life. It was challenging but not gut-wrenching. Hills and dales in abundance, but not killer hills. Six miles of pure beauty:

I took so many photos, it’s impossible to share them all here. If you’d like to see more, check out my Flickr widget in the sidebar to the right. I uploaded more than 60 photos there, this morning.

Here’s to a great week ahead!!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Hiking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to REA Store and Hiking Pictures

  1. Wow, wow, wow! I’ve never seen a store like that before in my life. I think that the investment in equipment is so worth it. What a great idea to compare it to your previous dollars spent on diet soda!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Wow! The savings in Diet Coke alone. That’s impressive.

    While I agree that eliminating something like soda from a diet does save money, I wonder how much… if you are used to spending $1 for a loaf of cheap (low nutritive) bread and then decide that the kind that has the most whole grains, fiber, whatever that you (read me, not actually “you”) desire in an effort to eat healthier costs $3 per loaf instead of $1, I think the actual savings in the long run is negated. I know fresh fruits and vegetables and quality lean meats are LOTS more expensive than some of the junk I used to buy. When the difference between basic ground beef and ground sirloin is $2 per pound, buying lean meat suddenly wipes out the six-pack (for example) of diet sodas you saved over the weekend.

    However, I can’t really put a price tag on health. At least I try not to… I was raised in a family that often scrimped on expenses and I don’t splurge often. It is comforting that the extra money I seem to be spending on groceries is helping my body be more healthy and my life more enjoyable. 🙂

  3. Diane,
    I KNOW, it’s such an awesome store, I just love it!

    Jennifer, I think you’re right. Eating well is more expensive in the short run, but I agree with you completely, that it’s so worth it in the long run!! My health and lots of extra disease-free years are worth the extra bucks.

    Still, I find that eating beans and grains really cuts down the budget a lot in other areas, so while fruits and veggies are more expensive, I’m wondering if it’s a “wash” coupled with other things that aren’t expensive.

Say Hi!

