Jeff Galloway Run/Walk Method

First, here’s my breakfast:

Yummy oatmeal goodness!! That’s a big bowl, did you notice? It’s actually only 1/2 c. of uncooked oatmeal but I cook it with 1 t. coconut flakes, 1 t. crunchy peanut butter, 1/2 of a banana and 1/2 of a small apple, diced, and TWO cups of water so it ends up quite fluffy and there’s quite a lot of goodness there for only around 240 calories! It takes a long time to eat, is sweet because of the fruit and it sticks to your ribs for a lonnng time.

Ok, Jeff Galloway. If you haven’t seen his latest post on his blog, do check it out. It’s right here. If you want to run, want BADLY to run, but it just seems like too much for you, check out Jeff’s walk/run program. He’s designed his program so that you can run into your 100th year! This means a program that respects your joints and your energy levels, that enables you to get out there and have some fun!

First, you have to let go of those runners who turn their noses up and tell you you aren’t really running because you’re walking too. Eh. The older I get, the less I could give two figs about what others think of me. There was a time, years ago, when I would almost rather die than WALK during a run. Walking meant complete and utter FAIL! So lame. Now, it doesn’t matter to me. What matters is that I can get outside and run, long distances even…someday, without breaking my body down and beating up my muscles and my moral.

Yesterday I went out for a 6 mile, SUPER GREAT run, here:

In the past few months I did all of my running in the first mile or so of my long walk, but I’ve decided that I want to spread it out for the long haul, slowly adding more run time in. This ups my metabolism nicely and turns my jelly belly into an efficient fat-burning machine! Yesterday I started out with 30 seconds of running but wasn’t even breathing hard…at all…so I upped it to 1 minute and still almost no impact on my breathing. I ended up running 2 minutes and walking 2 which seemed to work great until the last mile or so when I was quite tired.

When I got home, I read Jeff’s latest blog and the new way he’s teaching his clients based on the “Kathy” in his post and I thought…hmm. For my next run I’m going to try 1 minute run/1 minute walk for the whole 6 miles and see how that goes.

I love this. Gaining the understanding that I’m not trying to IMPRESS anyone with what I’m doing, that I’m on a mission to find what works for ME, to keep me fit and happy for life. I think that’s a key point in being able to gain a healthy life. Not caring what someone else thinks…and that includes compliments. When the compliments, praise and adoration stop, where does that leave you? I’d rather plod along slowly and consistently and be happy in ME and joyous about the life I have and the way I’m choosing to spend it. What anyone else thinks, good or bad? It really, really doesn’t matter.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in breakfast ideas, Exercise, Inspiration, running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jeff Galloway Run/Walk Method

  1. “First, you have to let go of those runners who turn their noses up and tell you you aren’t really running because you’re walking too.”

    Best running advice ever! 🙂

  2. Lauren says:

    Wow, I love this post.

    I love running, but I’ve never done it for long periods of time so I’m starting out small. Sometimes when I’m at the gym and the people next to me are running super fast for long periods of time, or I’m on the road and I need to stop to walk, I feel a little ashamed that I’m not quite at the same level as others. But you’re so right, it doesn’t matter at all what other people think. That was one of the things I wrote about in my blog post today.

Say Hi!

