Great Pizza Dough Recipe

So, I was taking my heart rate last night and was shocked to find that it’s gone from 98 bpm to 68 bpm!!!!! Wowsa! That’s very happy news. I gotta figure that maybe I’m gaining a couple of years of life with changes like that. It’s so great when I become aware of hard, cold facts that show that making lifestyle changes is worth the effort.

I made pizza last night and it was so good. We each made our own pizza so we could have it just the way we like it. On mine: Carmelized onions, black olives, vegan salami and cheese, black beans and a goodly amount of nutritional yeast sprinkled right on the tomato sauce….chezzy goodness! I liked the dough a lot, which I rolled out quite thin, so I thought I’d share the recipe. Sorry I forgot to take a picture!

Pizza Dough

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/3 cup warm water
1 T yeast
1.5 tsp salt
1 t. garlic powder

I used a mixer but of course, you can do this by hand as well. Mix the water with the yeast and hang out for 5 minutes or so till it gets a little foamy, then add all the rest as the mixer is doing it’s thing. Let it mix for about 3 minutes or you can knead it by hand until you can’t stand the kneading anymore. 3 minutes of kneading is about what I can tolerate.

Spray a bowl with olive oil spray and put the dough in, covering it to rise to double. This dough made enough for 3 large pizzas rolled out very thinly. It was so cold in the house yesterday that I put my bowl in the oven on “warm” (170), intending to turn it off after 5 minutes but I forgot. An hour later it had doubled and seemed just fine. So, maybe try that too…but don’t forget tot turn off the oven like I did.

If you like a thicker crust I think it would do 2 large ones nicely. You can also cut the dough into pieces and freeze it in freezer baggies so you can pull out a piece and have a pizza as soon as it thaws!

On my pizza pan I put a little olive oil and a sprinkling of corn meal which is a great pizza making trick that helps it not to stick. Layer on whatever you like, starting with the tomato sauce. My Mom made hers with anchovies, mozzarella, pepperoni and feta.

Cook at 400 in a pre-heated oven, checking it after 10 minutes. The thinner you roll the crust, the crispier it will be.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, Dinner Ideas, Good news, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great Pizza Dough Recipe

  1. That’s awesome! It’s simliar to the one i use too! Soooo yummy and I LOVE pizza. 🙂

  2. I love making my own pizza crust! We have movie night every Friday night and I make my own crust. It’s so much better than the store or frozen crusts!

    You have done great on your weight loss!!

  3. Tonye: It’s my firm believe that Pizza may be the best food in the universe.

    Diane: Thanks so much! I really like the idea of making a healthy pizza and having a movie night. Hmm. Must plan on this.

Say Hi!

