Monday…again

It was a great weekend. These are some junior high school boys who had just won a crewing race in the competition at Green Lake in Seattle on Saturday. Watching crew races is just a beautiful experience. (Which reminds me, I need to add to my goals that I want to take a crewing class.)

Sharing these with my sweetie made it really special:

Ah, good memories. So, another Monday. You know how sometimes the weeks just seem to fly by and sometimes they seem to crawl on broken knees? Yeah, well this may be one of those weeks.

It’s great to travel with my husband in his work for a major airplane building company, but it also stinks to high heaven. It’s beautiful here in Washington state, but I get sick of being in my Mom’s home for 3-4 weeks at a time. Right now? I’m sitting in her office and it’s NOT RAINING at the moment and her blinds? She keeps them shut up tight. So. Freakin’. Sad. I miss my own home. I miss the not-raining-get-outside-any-time days.

Not being able to do things the way you want? It’s hard. Not having things the way you want, not HAVING your things? Sucks. But it’s also a life of adventure and new things so it’s hard to whine too much because there are good trade-offs too.

Right now, we’re in the beginning stages of planning for Jeff’s retirement, scheduled for almost exactly 4 years from now. I have never been known as being a patient person. I push and shove until I make things happen! But t-i-m-e? I cannot make it move faster no matter how I try. Sigh.

I feel that way about this whole weight loss extravaganza sometimes. Yes, I love that I feel like I have a totally different body after losing 42 pounds now, but I have to re-work that magic just about 2 more times in order to get to my goal. I don’t mind the whole eating/exercise thing, at all. It’s just that thing about having it BE THERE all the time, every day. I can’t get “bored” with it and move on. It’s like raising a child. It’s going to take a bloody long time and it requires constant attitude adjustments.

Renee wrote an excellent post on this topic this week, called “The Zone”. At her blog, Full Fat To Low Fat Pie. I can totally relate to this post.

You know those people who date for like 8 years and finally get married? Not me. 7 weeks and we were married. Wait for kids? Oh, no! We were married about 5 weeks and then stupidly said, “Well, how about some kids?” So, when I say I/we have a lack of patience, I’m not kidding.

What do you do to beat the “time demon” when what you’re looking forward to is SO far out? I’d love to get some input from any one of the 10 people who read this blog.

Here’s to another week.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday…again

  1. Jennifer says:

    Well, when it comes to boredom and lack of patience, I’m slightly better than what you seem, but not by a whole lot. Lately my frustration has been caused by continuing to gain and re-lose the same four or five pounds over and over again. I see it as being good for my “maintenance” phase, but considering I still want to lose another 43 pounds, I can’t afford to be in a maintenance zone right now!

    Anyway, knowing what of you that I do, I’d try to draw comparisons to those things you love and what is around you. I’m hoping (although I don’t know for sure) that Georgia O’Keefe spent considerable amount of time honing her skills and that she wasn’t creating masterpieces overnight…

    Remember the sayings “Things worth doing are worth doing right” and “Good things come to those who wait”. I know it might not help a huge amount, but fill your head with as many positive thoughts as you can will not hurt. And, although your goal is still a way out, keep remembering that you’ve made a huge dent already and if you give up now, you will only have to extend the wait to start over at a later point.

  2. Jennifer,
    Thanks for your comment,I’ll work on slapping my positive attitude upside the head. I usually do so well at that-it’s my whole focus in life! But when things are stressful and I’m annoyed, I just want OUT…also a focus in my life. The weight loss is actually the only thing I can control right now so I’m not thinking about quitting on it, however I would love to ditch this burg and ditch hubbys job and just go home. Oye.

Say Hi!

