Saturday Reflection: MS and diet, MS and exercise

This week saw more changes, of course, isn’t that what’s great about life? First and foremost…I saw my naked butt in the bathroom mirror for the first time since I started losing weight. Last night. I was like DANG! That looks better! Cracked me up. I want to go in there and check myself out again. NOW I can see changes.

This week, Jeff and I realized that we need to get outside and hike and do endurance walking more than we need to be in the gym. First, it’s so incredible outside right now and second, fitness trainers say that you get a better workout using your OWN power, minus the gym machines and since there won’t be gym machines in the Grand Canyon in May or September, we’re working on hiking and walking together a lot more than spending time in the gym on the elliptical. So, that’s new.

The most interesting thing that occurred this week is, one day last week when I walked 12 miles. That’s “interesting” in and of itself, but the results were quite exciting to me. If you’ve been foolish enough to read my blog back to front, you may remember that I have MS and a lot of exertion isn’t cool for me. Well, apparently 12 miles was a LOT for me.

What’s so great about that? Well, for the past 10 years my physical activity has been quite limited since it tends to just wipe me out and send me to bed. Imagine my frustration at trying to lose weight and increase my activity!! In December of this past year, once I decided to DO IT, I realized that if I did some exercise in the morning and then again later in the afternoon, I could do more working out, put less stress on my body.

I’ve gone from a 2 mile walk being “too much” to a 12 mile walk being “too much” which is just absolutely amazing. Most people who have physical limitations would just say..can’t do it…but I believed that it MIGHT be possible to improve at least a little bit and I wanted to see what would happen if I could.

The results are just miraculous. After my LONG walk this week, yes, I had symptoms but they were so lame and limited and I just felt kind of icky and had to take it easy, which meant I was only able to walk 4 miles one day and 2 the next! This is such a HUGE improvement that I can’t even grasp it myself.

Two things: being out in the sunshine an hour every day, (coated with sunscreen of course), building muscle mass (which is showing to really help in autoimmune diseases…who knew?) and eating a vegan diet, which is a more advanced form of Dr. Swank’s MS Diet which helps so much. Dr. Swank is apparently turning 101 this year! His wife was completely incapacitated by MS early in his life but he refused to accept her fate and did enormous research on the possibility of a low cholesterol, low fat diet helping her. She was active and fit and perfectly sound even into her late 80’s last time I checked. I’m not sure when she died, but the changes in her fitness recaptured her whole life.

I say all of that to say this. There ARE things you can do to make your body stronger, there ARE things that you can do to increase your fitness and your happiness. Just TRY. So many people, myself included, in past years, think…oh, it’s too hard, I’d have to give up so much.

Frankly, I’d rather be climbing up Tiger Mountain today instead of being the old me: 300 pounds and going to bed sick, for two days, because I took a walk down the street to get the mail. Giving up meat and butter and sitting on my butt all day long saying “I can’t”? What a stupid trade-off.

I’m going mountain climbing! See you all tomorrow!!!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday Reflection: MS and diet, MS and exercise

  1. Renée says:

    what? no pictures of the aforementioned naked ass? hahahaha!

    physical movement and exercise is amazing isn’t it? 🙂 and amazing to also think about just how much you’ve changed I bet!

Say Hi!

