Sunday weigh in

I really already did my weigh-in a few days ago but to keep it on track since it is Sunday: 243, 40 pound loss, moved from 43% BMI to 37% BMI. There, done.

Jeff and I went hiking up Mt. Si yesterday in North Bend, WA.

This was Jeff’s third time up the mountain in about 3 months time and my very first. We separated right away so he could go on and I could take my time to see just how far I could get on this impossibly hard trail. Jeff is training for a “hiking trip across the Grand Canyon in one day,” in May, so he uses Mt. Si to work his legs to their max. He’s like a scampering puppy even though he’s 51. Seriously, scampering. Because of his daily gym workouts this past month, he’s seeing a remarkable increase in strength and speed on the mountain. It’s so cool to see how fitness improves quickly if you really work at it.

This hike was seriously the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life, exercise-wise. The elevation gain is 4167 feet and the trail is 4 miles up and 4 miles back, and when I say up, I mean UUUUP. It’s nicely maintained and all, dirt of course, with a bazillion rocks and log steps to climb up. I didn’t think it was possible for a human being to climb so many steps and live.

I wanted to get as far as I could without dropping dead, on this first trip out, so I could use it as a benchmark with a goal in mind of reaching the summit by the end of summer. In September, when we’re home in NM, we’re heading to Grand Canyon for a 3 night trip so that we can hike across the canyon together. This changes everything for me because now that I know how challenging it is to climb AND to go downhill endlessly, I’m going to start taking my exercise up a level and am going to start WORKING at it.

I turned around one long hill past the 1 1/2 mile mark just as Jeff called me on my cell and told me he had reached the summit (!) and was coming down. That was one long walk, I’ll tell you what. I learned that rather than push hard and have to stop every 50 yards to rest, to slow down and take very small steps which enabled me to go for “a while” before I stopped to rest. So, I learned. I also learned that hill hiking is a butt load harder than running AND I like it a LOT!

So, I made it less than halfway up on my first time out. While we’re in Washington for the rest of March, we’re going to climb Mt. Si every Saturday that weather permits (the rain stopped for the morning on Saturday, we did our climb and a few hours later, just as we got back in the car it started raining. Sweet!).

I was all excited going down because it was so EASY. And then, it wasn’t. Going down is hard on your legs! My quads were screaming “WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO US?????” On the way up, I wondered why there were little footpaths carved out beside the stone and log steps, now I knew…on the way down it’s so hard to pick up your feet after awhile, you just have to go around the steps. Yowsah!

This morning my calves and quads hurt and that’s one thing about me, no matter what I’m doing, I rarely hurt. So, that was some kinda work.

Hope you all have a super Sunday.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Goals, Weigh in Day, Weight Loss Stats. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday weigh in

  1. morgan says:

    Hi! I wanted to drop a line to let you know that I’ve been reading some of your posts lately. I also want to congratulate you on the progress you’ve made toward health already this year – you inspire me!

    I love the photos you take while hiking. I live in hilly southern Ohio and my “hiking” up the side of a hill has nothing on your Mount Si!! Keep up the hard work – every bit will pay off 🙂

  2. seattlerunnergirl says:

    Mount Si is a killer! I hiked up it once without having ANY idea what I was getting myself into. It was the hardest thing I’ve ever done, physically. I was EX.HAUS.TED. when we got done. But it was such a great feeling, too! Congrats on making it that far and I’m excited to watch you go farther each time!

Say Hi!

