Pica De Gallo, Kale Chips and Breaded Tofu Sticks

It’s been a busy day around here. I’ve been working and cooking up a storm at the same time. Paint a little, cook a little. Keeps me occupied and sane.

First up, Kale Chips, the recipe I promised weeks ago:

I got this recipe from GreenLiteBites and you can click here to watch a video on them. These are full of green goodness. Try them, they’ll make you strong and healthy. I like to make a bunch and sit them in a bowl on the counter so I can have a treat anytime I want. They’re different, so be adventurous.

Take a bunch of kale and wash it and dry it..I just use a towel to dry it off a bit then let it sit and air dry for an hour or so.

Preheat the oven to 300. Break the kale off of the branches, tear it into bite size pieces as you go. Put it all in a big bowl, drizzle it with 1 teaspoon of olive oil and shake these seasonings on top of the kale: seasoning salt, onion powder, garlic powder and anything else that trips your trigger. Toss with your hands and it’s done.

Spray a cookie sheet and put all of the kale on the sheet. Cook it for 15 minutes then turn the oven off and crack open the door. I never turn them but maybe you’re more ambitious than I am. I let them sit in the oven for another hour or so (door open) and when I come back they’re all crunchy and good.

Pica De Gallo:

This stuff is good on anything. I love it. It’s kind of a lime-y salsa.

6 plum tomatoes
1 large lime
1/2 t. salt
1 c. fresh parsley cut up tiny
2-4 jalapeno peppers cut up tiny, no seeds (I used 2)
1 small onion cut up tiny
Cut it all up and squeeze the lime over it. I put mine up in a quart jar I had handy so I can just scoop out what I need.

Crunchy Tofu Sticks

I got this recipe from Vegan Dad though I did my own take on it.

Buy 2 packages of extra firm tofu, drain it, press it with a paper towel for a few solid seconds
Cut into finger sized pieces.

Mix up these spices in a cereal bowl: 2 t. paprika, 1t. onion powder, 1 t. garlic powder, 1/2 t. thyme, 1/2 t. Italian seasoning, 1 t. salt, 1 t. green chilli powder. Get out another bowl and pour in 1 c. finely ground bread crumbs.

Preheat oven to 400. The original recipe called for dipping the tofu first in the spices, then into water, then into the crumbs but on the first dip into the water I could see all of my spices just floating away. So, no go on that. Instead, I put the tofu fingers into the spice bowl and tossed them around with my OWN fingers to get them coated with the spices, then I put each tofu stick into the crumb bowl and just pressed the crumbs into the tofu sides, which worked well, keeping hold of all of those lovely spices.

Spray the pan and line these babies up on the pan. Cook for 20 minutes then turn them over and cook for another 15 or 20. I like mine pretty crispy so I left them for the longer time. These are great dipped in a veganaise sauce or the old standby…catsup! I cut each block through the middle, then cut the two half blocks stacked on top of one another, into 6 1/2″ or so slices=12 pieces per block at around 40 calories each with the small amount of bread crumbs on them.

**These Tofu sticks are turning out to be a big, handy staple for us! They’re great for a dose of protein as a snack or in a sandwich or as a side to a salad. My husband LOVES them and because they’re so handy to grab and re-heat, he’s much more interested in eating vegan most of the time. He loves Vegan food but does what he wants when he’s out for business lunches, etc.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Snack Ideas, Toppings, vegan, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

