40 pounds lost!

I’m sitting here in my size 18 jeans. Size 18! 18! I’m so jazzed this morning. I weighed in to find that I’ve now lost 40 whole pounds. This is something that I seriously thought was just about impossible now that I’m 50. I’m so happy!

In truth, my size 18’s fit very well but my muffin top over the TOP of my waistband is quite “impressive”. I’m not going to let that bug me (too much), I’m just going to keep on a-working, and in a couple more weeks it won’t be so bad. My size 20’s were nowhere close to fitting anymore, so these actually do feel a lot better.

I bought 3 tops yesterday in a size 16 and a CUTE summer skirt (soft blue with a brown print), in a large size (I’m assuming that’s about a 14-16) so now I have a cache of treasures to work my way into. It’s so awesome that summer is coming on (someday) and I’ll get to enjoy it at a fit and healthy weight!

My new gym strategy: We’re in WA state and we have a gym membership here at a small local gym 3 miles away. Every day my husband calls me as he leaves work and I head out with my Nike+ on and walk toward the gym. When he sees me, he stops for me, and I get to sneak in a mile or two of walking. At the gym, I’ve raised the incline of the elliptical to 3% (over my old level several weeks ago of 1%) and do 20 minutes, then do “Hill work” on the bike for 20 minutes at a #7 level. I do about 10 minutes of weight training on the machines before I do the cardio, but honestly, I only do maybe 4 machines.

That’s my other cool piece of news. I’m discovering that I really am QUITE strong! I don’t have the speed thing in me, but this maybe explains my extreme abilities for endurance running 10 years ago. On the leg press machine I do 215 pounds, on the back extension machine, 210 pounds..almost my whole weight! My husband, who is the strongest person I’ve ever known, can do nowhere near that weight. So, hmm. I like that! On the lat pull-down, I can do 90 pounds. Other than that…I’m a wimp on other arm things. 40 pounds max. My arms need help!

So, I guess I’m about 1/3 of the way to my goal. I’ve lost 12% of my total body weight and have gone from a BMI of 43% to 37%. Yay me!

*I bought this cool DVD today: Punk Jump Rope (The class that *Bitch Cakes* loves.) Should be fun!

I hope everyone has a happy hump day.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Weigh in Day, Weight Loss Stats. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 40 pounds lost!

  1. Jennifer says:

    That is so awesome! It sounds like you’re doing many many things right and your attitude is right on! Keep it up! I enjoy reading your blog because of your positive mental attitude. It is motivating to me.

  2. liz says:

    rock on! and thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

Say Hi!

