Back to real life

What fun! I had a mammogram AND a bone density test this morning. Tommorrow’s big thing? Blood work and repair a tooth that broke last month when I was home in Albuquerque. I know, I lead such an exciting life. Don’t be jealous.

I’m slowly uploading all of my Puerto Vallarta pictures to my Flickr account and if you have a burning desire, you can check them out, there’s a little widget to the right in my sidebar. I’ll add some every day this week. But just to be redundant, I’ll post a couple of the pictures this week as I do my daily entry. Like the picture up top there, where you see my foot-on a pretty piece of sidewalk outside of someone’s apartment building. I love it, I think I’m going to paint it, only in the painting my foot will be wearing a jazzy Mexican sandal.

If we were asked once to buy things from vendors in Mexico, we were asked 150 times. The hotel had roped off a piece of the beach and vendors could come in only if asked by a guest, but hey, they rarely were, so the vendors just whistled and called “LADY!” all day long, from 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Oy. That’s a lot of “no thank you’s”. I always tried to smile when I said no thank you, but you know, that gets tiring. I know that tourism is the hugest part of Mexico’s income though, so it’s hard to be a jerk about it. Though some people were. I saw a lot of that. I totally knew where they were coming from. I didn’t buy anything on our whole trip-well, 2 shirts from a nearby store because I hadn’t brought enough to wear. And HEY, I bought them in the regular section! Soooo sweet.

We went Whale watching and I’ll share those pictures as soon as I wade through the rest of the photos. I’m only up to #150 and I have about 700 all together. So, we went on this whale watching boat and the whole rest of our group (12) went to the lower floors of the boat but Jeff and I are CRAZY about being outside so we went up top where there were only 2 other people and were later joined by our new friends, Shelly and Reg who also wanted to be outdoors. For 3-4 hours we re-applied and re-applied sunscreen and enjoyed the beautiful boat ride. The guides started out with a 10 minute talk about seasickness…which let me say right now, does not bode well. I get really bad motion sickness and Jeff, after about 3 hours always gets violently ill. So I’m thinking..ok, Shut up about the vomiting now! I was like all zen about it and managed to lecture my brain for like 2 hours about staying all well and not vomity and all and then it stopped listening, so I spent at least an hour staring at the clouds intently because looking at the horizon bobbing? uh, no.

In the third hour I asked Jeff, “Are you ok?”
“Yeah. I think I’m just tired.”
10 minutes later he was heaving into a gallon sized baggie while I’m STARING AT THE CLOUDS and trying to ignore him wretching 10″ from me. Not fun. Not even a little bit.

No, I did not throw up. That’s how incredibly stubborn I can be. I’d rather have both feet run over than throw up. So I didn’t. Instead, I was nauseous for 3 days in a row. That’s right smart of me, huh? Still, I didn’t throw up.

I took no less than 150 photos. Every time someone saw a whale’s tail come up and go down in the water, I took a picture, always only about 2 seconds TOO LATE. I never got a shot and we saw about 12 whales. I handed Jeff the camera and went down below to the bathroom for about two minutes and when I came up, he handed me the camera with 2 or 3 perfect pictures of a whale submerging. Sheesh!

After the whale thing was over, we still had a heck of a long way to go back. It was over an hour with Jeff feeling better and me feeling worse, all the while staring at the clouds with rabid focus.

I haven’t even mentioned my huge fear of the open ocean. Staying near the shore I’m totally cool with. Going out there in the water where it’s so deep that even WHALES can swim? Shudder. The only thing that scares me more than deep ocean water is bears, all kinds of bears. The only thing worse than dying by drowning, would be driving off a steep cliff into the deep ocean below, and having a bear swim up and eat my body as I lay dying. I knew the bears and the steep cliff were out of the question, but the deep water was STILL THERE.

That’s my husband of 28 years. Speaking of 28 years, I lost track of how many times my MIL introduced her whole entire family to strangers, and never once remembered me even though I tower over them all by like 10″-I’m not hard to miss. Not to mention how many times she took individual pictures of the whole family, scanning PAST me to get to the next person. She doesn’t hate me (that I know of), I just don’t exist to her. That makes for some interesting times. Ah, yes. Imagine how many things I’m saying between those lines.

So, I’m going out this weekend to buy some size 18 jeans. I don’t need them yet, but both pair of my size 20 jeans are so loose now that I keep thinking I’ve made a mistake and am wearing my old size 22 jeans-which I left at home in New Mexico. I really feel like there should be some sort of major party or drums and ponies or something to mark the fact that I’m about to go into normal sizes. And yet, listen….nothing……just crickets. It feels so anti-climactic. But you know, I guess becoming “normal” isn’t supposed to be a big thing. It’s where I was supposed to be, if I had taken care of myself. Still, I want something. I’m going to think of something cool to make me feel all special. If you have any ideas, do share them. I’m not a girly girl at all, so manicures, pedicures, massages? Nah. So be creative!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to real life

  1. Abby says:

    I’m the same way about puking. If I don’t want to, then I won’t! If I am puking, then you know I’m realllllly sick.

    And I also commiserate with you about the MIL drama. My mother in law doesn’t hate me, she just would prefer if I didn’t exist. So we decided that we don’t vacation with them 😉

  2. Abby, I actually thought about you last week, knowing you have similar problems. It made me feel less alone in it!

  3. I don’t know anything about MIL drama, but when my sister got married…OY, it was crazy. 28 YEARS, woman..congrats! that is amazing!

    Hmm..I’m a girly girl, so when I want something I usually go that route…but I also sometimes get a new cookbook, or let myself splurge at WFoods and buy new products.

Say Hi!

