I’m back!

We had a nice trip to PV, Mexico but honestly, I’m glad to be back home and am looking forward to getting into the normal swing of things again. What an interesting week. We stayed at a truly beautiful hotel with 12 other members of Jeff’s family, right on the beach where we spent a lot of time laying in chaise lounges and reading books. I was a leeeetle bit worried but felt like if I just kept to my habit of behaving in the way I feel strongly about, i.e. : a fit lifestyle, that no matter what happened I could be proud of myself. I felt like a blind woman feeling my way every day, learning as a went along from meal to meal and activity to activity.

First, we ate awesome fresh fruit for breakfast every day without fail and it hardly seemed like a sacrifice. The hotel offered free fruit to carry around with us so we always stocked up and took apples, pears, nectarines, oranges and grapes with us to the beach or whatever. Sometimes we’d go out for lunch but I always scoured the menus and made the best choice that I could, given the options…and I refused to beat myself up over it. Usually on a whole menu heavy with chicken and beef, there would always be a veggie option that was just fabulous. When I could find no good option I’d opt for something with cheese, which on many occasions I was glad I did because otherwise I wouldn’t have had any protein at all. Still, it was totally doable, surprising the heck out of me!

It’s not POSSIBLE for me to communicate how great it was to be able to move and participate and basically DO things because of my fitness level and because of the weight I’ve lost. Very quickly we realized that everyone was going to take a taxi van everywhere, so we’d go along but then after dinner each night, Jeff and I and another couple 15 years older than us (no family, but someone’s friends who rapidly became our friends) would walk back every night, usually around 4 miles along the coast, sometime as late as midnight, under the stars in the warm air. It was sheer heaven. And the opportunity to do things with a “normal” couple who were quite a bit older than us who were just giddly about good health and DOING things? Priceless. What a great picture I now hold in my head of how I want to look in my 60’s.

This is Reg and Shelly, our companions in exploring on foot:

I will absolutely do another post on Mexico and will upload all of my pictures to Flickr once I clean them up, but for right now, I need to go put away my groceries and go for a walk.

And lastly, for my great news! I lost a pound this week.
Can you believe that action??? I seriously cannot! I’m now down to 247.6 Freakin’ great 🙂

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Travel, Weight Loss Stats. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m back!

  1. Beautiful pics! And congrats on your weight loss, on a vacation no less!

    That other couple sound like a hoot, and a bit like my in-laws. No matter how I try, I can’t keep up with them!

    I think I’ll start following your posts on this site (I’m also on Blog to Lose).

    Have a great day and welcome back!
    Debbie
    (www.exyoyodieter.blogspot.com)

  2. CONGRATS ON THE WEIGHT LOSS,LADY! Happy to have you blog in the bloggie world 😉 Sounds like a great, well deserved vacay!

  3. seattlerunnergirl says:

    Welcome back AND congrats on losing a pound! I’m one of those strange folks who loses weight on vacation, especially if the weather is nice where I’m at! Keep it up and can’t wait to see more photos!

  4. Ooo, all you lovely people make me happy. I missed the blog world!

Say Hi!

