A support system is everything

Another picture by my sister, isn’t it grand? Simple but so lovely.

So, a support system. One thing that’s different for me as I’m successfully losing weight is that I’m connected with others. Actually no one I know other than close family, knows that I’m losing weight or that I’m exercising regularly. I just haven’t wanted to talk about it and honestly, I don’t want rah rah stuff from them, I just want to get on with it and do it. Most people don’t understand how challenging it is to do all the inner growth that’s required to shrink the outside of you!

What I’ve done though is to fight past the me that likes to stand in the way and I’ve learned to reach out to others who are doing exactly what I’m doing…working HARD to get fit, for a lifetime, not just to lose 20 pounds for an event that’s coming up in the near future.

I now have and give so much support to this community that it seems ludicrous to think I’d just give up, quit trying and go back to the old me who no longer exists. There are so many great people out there who are willing to cheer you on.

Some tips for successful networking:

1. Give as much support-or more, as you want to receive. It’s really not all about taking. In giving support and encouragement you get more back for yourself than you give, in my opinion. When you build someone else up, it reminds YOU what you’re capable of, what you can do, what is possible. And in return, when you’re having a crappy day, those people will build you up and tell you that you can do it!

2. Understand that some people who have quite a following of readers are just really busy people. They can’t help everyone, it’s not possible. But don’t be afraid to send them a note occasionally, everyone loves knowing that what they’re doing is a help to you. Again, it reminds them of how far they’ve come and what they’ve learned.

3. Don’t complain all the time. Enough said.

4. If you read a blog that just doesn’t suit you, pass on by it and find someone else that just really clicks with your personality. My favorites are off all ages and lifestyles, and that suits me.

5. Look in the sidebars of blogs for other links that might be helpful to you.

6. Consider getting on Twitter. Again, if someone really bugs you, just stop following you. Getting on Twitter a couple of times a day is like a free visit to Weight Watchers a couple of times a day. It brings an excellent boost to your day to read what other healthy hard workers are doing.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

