Do or Do not, there is no “Try”

My sister, the school teacher, took this picture and I’m borrowing it from her. No, I didn’t steal it, I just “borrowed” it. Ahem.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately because I read a lot of things on losing weight. I hope I don’t come across as a hard core jerk because truly, I don’t want to do that.

It really makes me wince when I see someone who’s obviously upset about their health and excess fat say sort of fearfully, “I HOPE this works”, or “I’m going to TRY THIS once again”, or “I HOPE I can do a little better this week.”

I really believe that what your brain hears is that tiny action word “Try”, and everyone knows what that means. It means, if all of the planets line up for me and no one pisses me off this week and I’m not emotional about anything this week and if I have all the time I need to make things happen this week….IF those things happen and my life rolls along really well, then MAYBE I can have some success this week.

I am a huge believer in lying your butt off to your mind. If you don’t believe in yourself at ALL, lie like a dog and tell yourself that you WILL eat well or you WILL journal your food or you WILL exercise two days this week. It builds belief in yourself, trust in yourself and ultimately confidence in yourself. I think this is what “they” mean when they say “Fake it till you make it.”

I know if feels stupid to say “Yeah, I’m 150 pounds overweight, but I KNOW I’m going to have a great day.” But do it anyway. Trust yourself with something. Believe in just a little something and do it and that will build into something bigger and soon you’ll be unstoppable!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do or Do not, there is no “Try”

  1. jueall says:

    I WILL eat well and I WILL journal what I eat and I WILL exercise two days this week.

    I WILL fake it till I make it. Thank you.

  2. you and your sister are SUCH great photographers! hope you enjoy your vacation!

Say Hi!

