Saturday Reflection

It’s been a great week. I left Albuqeruque on Monday, a little worried that I’d be able to keep up all my routines once I landed in Seattle, but little by little, hour by hour, I’m learning that I can trust myself, that I’ll usually do the thing that keeps me moving along. What’s different this time? What makes me want to keep going?

I believe that the exercise I’m doing is the key. I’m very sure of that. In that past it was diet only, and I could only keep that up for 1 or 2 weeks tops before I caved, quit, and got back to eating. The exercise: the running, the gym, the walking, is all not only a means to an end, but a HUGE reward in itself. It’s what I dreaded most, all these years in thinking about losing the weight. Now, it’s what brings me the most joy. I would never in a million years have believed you if you tried to tell me that 8 weeks ago. But it’s true.

As I mentioned yesterday, I’ve lost 35 pounds total. Since I need to leave for the airport at 5 a.m. tomorrow, I’ll do my total weight stats today: Overall, I’ve lost 12.1% of my body weight. My BMI has gone from 43.3 to 37.8.

I’m loving the way I’m eating. I happen to love vegan food, so this makes me really happy. What I don’t like is being associated with anyone who tries to force me to eat exactly what they think I should eat “as a good Vegan” OR conversely, that I’m an idiot for eating Vegan, and therefor a freak, and I should just have a ham sandwich and shut up. I understand both views. For the first time, I’m making up my own rules and not listening to anyone else and it’s changed my whole attitude. Case in point:

Last night we were out shopping for some clothes for our trip to Mexico tomorrow (PV) and we stopped at the grocery store for dinner (A big win over going out to a restaurant for dinner). I knew that I wanted some marinated tofu, but what else? No clue. I had a relaxed attitude about it: I could eat anything I wanted in the whole store, I had nothing to prove to anyone else. Shrimp? Salad with a creamy sauce? In the end, I felt really happy to just find the marinated tofu in a corner and some incredible cubed squash with garlic oil in the deli.

I found some hot chinese mustard in the deli and put it on my tofu and WOW it was GOOD! That mustard is going on my shopping list! If you don’t love tofu, try it with the mustard, and also, dip it in some sesame seeds. Yummmm. And the squash? I’m going to make that dish and when I do, I’ll share the recipe. It was so tasty!

I think this week has been powerful for me because I’m learning not to stress, not to care about what anyone else thinks about anything I do, no, more than that…to just “own” it and not to think “I have to PROVE myself, I have to do things the RIGHT WAY”. I feel very relaxed about it all. I’m just working on not getting my panties in a knot about things. I feel very free to make any choice at all that I want without feeling like I have to explain my choices to anyone. That’s a big weight off my shoulders, I guess literally!

The husband and I are going to go run in Seattle’s Discovery Park today, so I’m going to be able to get some lovely pictures. It’s one of the prettiest, largest parks I’ve ever been in, with sweeping views of Puget Sound from the cliffs.

One last thing: We went looking for shorts, capris and light shirts last night at JC Penny. I bought all of my things in the regular sized women’s section! I just didn’t want to go over to the plus sized section if I didn’t have to so I pulled out x-large items in the regular section to see if they were anywhere close to fitting. They all fit!!! It was such a huge moment! Plus, who knew shopping could be so EASY and so inexpensive? It was actually fun. I can’t wait until I’m well and solid into a size 18 so that I can shop anywhere.

I will be doing mostly photo updates from Mexico since I’m not going to bring my computer on this trip. So, I’ll type out what I can manage on my iphone by way of a tiny post, but I do hope you enjoy the photos! I will keep up with everyone via twitter. If you haven’t added me, please do: @fitlivingdaily

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Inner growth, running, Saturday Reflections, Weigh in Day, Weight Loss Stats. Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

