Friday at last

I found this cool overhead shot of Seattle’s Green Lake in my files and thought I’d open my post with it. My husband took this picture when he went for his 50th birthday ride in a teeny tiny helicopter of death last year. I was out of the state at the time. He usually does these things when I’m not around to watch: like the time he went sky diving and then the next weekend there were two skydiving deaths in the national news at the same little outfit he jumped with! But, I digress.

It’s not my weigh-in day so I’ll do an update on Sunday, when it really is, but with getting ready for our Mexico vacation (which means doing some shopping for things we don’t have-like stuff for 80 degree weather that I don’t think we’re going to find!) and going running tomorrow at Discovery Park in Seattle and working out at the gym tonight before we shop tonight…all leads me to the fact that I’m going to be pretty busy the next couple of days so I thought I’d go ahead and mention today that I’ve lost 35 pounds!

Dang. And wow. I’m now at 248.8 which is just stunning to me. (I actually started out at 283.8 so that’s exactly 35 pounds but I don’t really look at the .’s in the poundage…unless it serves me to do so and makes me look successful!) My size 20 jeans are getting loose enough on me that I think I’ll be in an 18 in about 10 more pounds.

I’ve been working out a lot and have shifted my eating habits away from meat and dairy for the most part, so I KNOW I’ve lost a lot more this week than is healthy-but I wasn’t going for that, honest. I’m working to catch up and make things mesh the way I want them to..enough calories in to balance out my exercise.

It’s been hard making the transition to being at my Mother’s home where food is so abundant that I literally cannot look at her counter tops. Can not. She has a giant freezer stuffed to the rafters, a small freezer, stuffed, and 3 refrigerators, stuffed…and there’s only her in the house since my Dad died last year. She’s one of those food hoarder people, as she was used to cooking for a large family in the past. Periodically she has to go through the freezers and refrigerators and throw out half of everything. She just can’t seem to change.

I think I’ve inadvertently swung the other way, being too careful, more than is necessary. Perhaps though, this will balance out the vacation week coming up. Though I’m so strange that way…I’m the only person I know who’s lost weight on the two cruises I’ve taken. Strange. I must walk to the beat of a different drummer.

I need to get out the door, I want to run this morning. Being in someone else’s home is hard. I miss my home and my way of doing things. Sometimes my husbands job? Sucks.

Oh, and incredible news!! In four miles (today!!!) I will hit the GREEN level on Nike+!!!!!!! I hope everyone has a great Friday, I know I will!!

*Update: Made it to the Green! It was slightly ridiculous actually. Nike+ said I had just over 4 miles to go to green so I did 4.40 miles or so, plugged in the stick and it said, that NO, I had about 1/20 to go so I stubbornly did .20 more; plugged in the stick and it said I had .91 to go! Stupid thing!! I jumped on a treadmill to get the last of it done. I was NOT going to leave this day without going green. Now..only 500 miles to go to blue. “5 HUNDRED?!” she whispered.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Goals, running, Weight Loss Stats. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday at last

  1. rundadrun says:

    Thanks for posting the pic of Green Lake. We lived in Seattle(Bothell) for 9 years, and that pic brought back some great memories. Congrats on hitting the Green level. I do not own an I- thingy to go in my shoe, but I have a feeling that is a great thing. 🙂 You are 35 pounds lighter, so it must be working. AWESOME!
    Happy running,
    Rundad

Say Hi!

