Hot and Sour Tofu Soup and Tofu Marinade and the Gym

So, we’re at my Mom’s house here in WA state and this woman, who was raised on a farm and who has OVER 400 cookbooks…I don’t think she has any vegetarian cookbooks, handed me this recipe to try yesterday: Hot and Sour Tofu Soup. She further proceeded to give me a heart attack by telling me she’d bought bulgar and quinoa to try! I think my brain burst about that time. So, into the kitchen I went, to make the soup with some of my vegan goodies I bought yesterday after my run. It was SO GOOD!! Please try it if you’re at all inclined.

Hot and Sour Tofu Soup

3 green onions
1/4 c. regular onion diced up tiny
1 bell pepper, diced
Cook all of these in 1 t. oil for 5 minutes
Add:
4 cups of water
1 t. poultry seasoning
1/4 c. soy sauce
1 t. red pepper flakes
1 t. chinese mustard powder
1/4 t. black pepper
1 t. hot sesame oil (or regular)
juice of 1 lemon
1 8 oz can of water chestnuts
1 16 oz can of bamboo shoots
1 16 oz can of straw mushrooms or any mushroom
1 T. wine, any
1 T. rice vinegar
1 package of firm tofu cut into little squares
1 bag of frozen snow peas or any peas (about 3 cups)
1 t. onion powder
2 t. garlic powder
1/2 t. ginger powder

If you want, you can beat in 1 T. cornstarch in a separate bowl with a little of the soup liquid, then pour it back into the pot. I opted not to.

Calories:
130.7 kcal
Carbohydrate* (48%) 16.67 g
Protein (30%) 10.91 g
Total Fat (22%) 3.22 g
Cholesterol 0 mg
Dietary Fibre 4.04 g

Some of these ingredients are sort of odd, no? My Mom is a COOK. She has EVERYTHING known to mankind in her kitchen and I mean EVERYTHING. I can say, “Hey, do you have any dried mushrooms from deepest, darkest China…the outer southern borders?” And she’ll say, “Oh sure, I know right where they are.” Amazing.

The other recipe: Marinated Tofu, which is pretty
pricey in the stores. We paid $1.75 for one slice on Monday!
I used 2 packages of extra firm tofu which I bought for $2.50 each and made them both at once but the amounts I give for the marinade will be for 1 package.

Cut the tofu into average slices-I don’t know, maybe 1/3″ thick?
Lay them out, side by side on cookie sheets that have a rim
Mix up the marinade in a bowl:

About 1 c. of balsamic vinegar
1/2 c. soy sauce
1 t. sesame seed oil
1 t. garlic oil
2 t. garlic powder
2 t. onion powder
1/2 t. red pepper flakes

Pour the marinade over the tofu and let it sit for an hour. Turn tofu over and let it sit in the marinade for another hour. Heat the oven to 250 and stick the tofu in the oven for about 30 minutes. Turn the tofu over and let it cook for another 20 minutes or so. Just keep an eye on it and when it reaches the level of “dryed-out-ness” that you like, pull it out. Let it cool and put it into a zip lock baggie so you can make sandwiches with it, snack on it, make soups, casseroles, whatever.

Calories per slice (I got 23 slices from 2 packages of tofu)
41.6 kcal
Carbohydrate* (20%) 2.28 g
Protein (57%) 5.99 g
Total Fat (23%) 1.07 g
Cholesterol 0 mg
Dietary Fibre 0.09 g

Lastly, I ran in the morning yesterday, and in the afternoon, as soon as husband got home, we headed to the gym. Funnnnnnn!!!! We have a gym membership here in WA state because we’re here 4-5 months each year and it’s only $29 for the two of us-a great deal. I TRIED going to the gym 30+ pounds ago but I was so freaked out. I did go maybe 4 times so I got to know how to do the machines at least. I was able to do the elliptical trainer for 15 minutes before I died…as long as it was on the easiest setting.

Last night I lifted weights for 10 minutes, did the Elliptical on aerobic setting and actually WORKED for 25 minutes, then did the bike for 13. Oh, it was a blast! I found that I really like watching the numbers and notes that come up on the machine. When I exercise, my mind is like that of a gerbil. I can’t really focus on anything, my brain just says “la de dah, la de dah” for however long I’m working out. I can literally run over a math problem 65,000 times and never come to a conclusion because my head is so spacey and into my “right brain”. So I didn’t expect to sort of enjoy…heck, LOVE being in the gym. It was fun to watch people and check out the stupid sports stuff that was on the tv, but mostly, I was just in my head, thinking and working out beside the husband and it was uber fun! Hi, my name is Katie and I’m addicted to exercise.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Dinner Ideas, Healthy foods to try, Healthy Snacks, running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot and Sour Tofu Soup and Tofu Marinade and the Gym

  1. Abby says:

    That soup looks really good, but I’m still really scared of Tofu. I need to get over that, especially because I’m a vegetarian!

Say Hi!

