In Seattle!

Get ready for a long post!

I flew from Albuquerque to Seattle by way of Minneapolis of all places, where I had a 4 1/2 hour layover. I strapped on my Nike+ and I walked for 4 miles in that airport! I started out with just 2 and was so bored I kept it up! First time I’ve ever done that. I searched the airport and without much problem I found some fruit for lunch, a huge win!

Arrived in Seattle at 4 pm to finally be with my honey and we headed to Seattle for a walk around Green Lake-our beloved Green Lake.

We went to PCC, the natural market off of Green Lake and got marinated tofu slices and fruit for dinner, lots of fun! Alltogether on Monday, I walked over 7 miles.

On Tuesday, Jeff and I walked ELEVEN+ miles all over the place! At one point we had taken a bus into downtown Seattle and I said, “Hmm..how far do you think Mighty-O donuts is from here?” (It’s back up by Green Lake.) We decided right then and there, that even though we’d already walked for miles, we’d hike back the whole 5 miles on foot and have ONE vegan donut each. What an awesome idea! My idea…thank you very much. We saw SO much of Seattle by walking. We saw and did things on our walking trips that we never would have dreamed of seeing and doing because we’re always on a bus or in the car. It was sheer heaven.

At our destination point..half of it walked in a light misty, Seattle rain:

And..Nirvana:

We then walked back to our pickup and I said, “Hmm…want to walk around the lake AGAIN?” Dang! We walked our feet off on Tuesday and had such an amazing time.

Honestly, I can’t say it enough: Losing weight and doing daily exercise is so important. It’s life changing, it allows you to do so much..more than I EVER thought I could do! It’s worth it. Everything I give up, everything I do, it’s worth it. This is living, for real!

Today, I went out to the Orting Trail where I used to run years ago, and started Jeff Galloway’s run/walk training program to prepare for a half marathon. Yay!! It was so indescribably incredible to be back running there…when I never thought I’d run again. I did 4 miles, run 1 minute/walk 1 min for 2 miles, then walked the rest. I can’t describe in words, how overjoyed I was. I wanted to cry and laugh all at the same time.

After running, I went to the Orting Safeway to get some healthy eating supplies for while we’re here at my Mom’s house (while my husband is working in Auburn). Here’s my haul:

Today, I made hot and sour tofu soup which is simmering on the stove for dinner, and I marinaded some tofu..a lot of it actually. So tomorrow, I’ll post those recipes.

Life is so great and I’m so happy and yay!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Healthy foods to try, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Seattle!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Your happiness rings through every word in your post. So wonderful! Congratulations on all of your recent achievements, and keep it up!

Say Hi!

