Fluffy Cake + Vegan Stuff

I made this “Angel Food Cake with Sugar Free Jello, Sprinkles and Sugar Free Whipped Cream”. Now THAT’S a name!

This cake was a real winner. 1 box of angel food mix-just add water, cook, then mix up 1 small box of strawberry jello with 2 cups of hot water, then pour it over the cooked cake.

Yes, it’s really disgusting sounding, but once you put it back in the fridge for a couple of hours, the jello solidifies and you have what tastes like strawberry shortcake! I added a layer of sugar free whipped cream topping and some sprinkles.

I can’t say for sure exactly what the calorie count is but it’s around 150 calories or so-probably less, for about a 3×3” piece. I’m not sure where I saw this idea, I watched a video of it recently, somewhere or other. I guess though, that this is a super popular cake that I’ve just never heard of. Super easy!

So there’s that. Celery in The City and *Bitch Cakes* have really gotten me interested in getting back a little closer to my vegan roots. (Well, roots is such a strong word. If I had “roots” in Veganism I’d probably still be a vegan wouldn’t I?) Celery is always buying the most awesome vegan products, old friends that I know very well and miss greatly, and Sheryl is always cooking stupendous vegan dinners that just make me drool. The thing is, I truly love vegan food, much more than non-vegan food. That’s why, lately, Vegan recipe links have been popping up in my sidebar. I fully realize that pretty much every ingredient I used in the two recipes above are non-vegan, still, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about re-visiting the vegan thing.

Then, a new thought occurred to me, actually while I was chatting on the phone with my husband, and he laughed at me when it dawned on me that: Just like with my running and my weight loss, I AM ALLOWED to do anything I want in any way that I want. I forget that I am a grown-up sometimes and I’m allowed do things that might not be completely in line with what someone else might do.

So, to that end, I’m just going to start s-l-o-w-l-y and will enjoy vegan foods for breakfast and see what I think of that. I’m just going to jump in and have some fun and see what I can come up with. I found out that I can switch my “meal preferences” on “The Biggest Loser Club” to exclude animal products, so now they’ll generate some pretty good suggestions each day to help jump-start my thinking. If I come up with something I really like, I’ll post the recipe and you can either give it a try or not!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in chicken, Desserts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fluffy Cake + Vegan Stuff

  1. That cake looks fantastic! I will have to try it! 🙂

Say Hi!

