These Little Town Blues

..You know, the Frank Sinatra song, “New York, New York”.

I have this to say about that: I’m refocusing so I can start obsessing about New York. My husband and I have decided to take a 2 week and 2 day trip to New York City in May of 2011. I’m sooooooooo excited about this. I’m going to be in the land of Bitch Cakes and Celery In The City for two glorious weeks during the Springtime.

Now I spent my teen years in New Jersey so I’ve been to NYC several times, I saw my first hooker there when I was 17! Well, you know, she was on the street corner and we were DRIVING by. My husband of 28 years has never to New York so we’re quite excited and will drool together over thousands of Flickr photos and all sorts of cool blogs from New Yorkers and lists of everything we MUST do when we’re in town. Ah, I do love a new obsession!

I’ve lived in Oklahoma, New Jersey, Suburbia in Washington State, Seattle (a favorite love), Michigan and Albuquerque. One of the places we both want to live for at least a year or so…or more, is New York City. Who knows why we get these ideas, but have them we do and do them we must. So for us, this will be more than a vacation, it’ll also be an exploration of the city with an eye to the near future of what area we might want to get an apartment in.

You know how some people, maybe most, buy a home and then…actually live in it and STAY there, like forever? Yeah, I really admire them. We always mean to do that, but then, we don’t. My husband works for a major company in Puget Sound in Seattle and he travels for a living a LOT of the year and mostly, I travel with him. Because of that, we’ve had a chance to make friends and settle in all across the country, so travel (within the country…don’t get me started about outside-of-the-country-travel: it’s like polar bears and deep water and death by wolves–on my list of fears. I know, I know, I’m such a wuss.) isn’t something we fear, we adapt very quickly.

So, we bought this beautiful big house in New Mexico but honestly, we KNOW we probably will end up selling and moving out within 5 years, long about the time the husband retires. Because also…weirdly…we LOVE apartment living! The idea of living in a 500 square foot apartment in New York…TOTALLY dazzling! Yes, we are a little oddly twisted.

We love being out in the desert, away from town, but more, we love city life. Love. it.

What in the heck does any of this have to do with weight loss? Oh, grasshopper, so much. This trip to New York is for both of us but it’s also a celebration trip for me to celebrate all of the weight I’m going to get off in 2010. My husband is fit but is getting super, uber fit because this spring, he’s hiking all the way across the Grand Canyon while I do maybe, 7 miles of it. We’ve turned over new leafs, so to speak and are claiming a life of fun, fascinating activities to do and great exercise out of doors and in the big city! So, this trip is, I find, a remarkable thing for me to focus on INSTEAD of how many pounds the bloody scale says I’ve lost each week.

I took a 6 mile walk today and I was thinking all the way through it…work this walk baby, because you’re going to be doing a LOT of walking in New York, you’re going to be doing a LOT of stair climbing for the subway! Do you see what I mean? I’m going to start TRAINING my focus, like I’m training my nutritional muscles and my actual muscles-I’m going to live with a focus on the incredibly wonderful things we have planned out there in the near future that being slender and fit will make ALL THE BETTER. I want to squeeze the juice of of life and suck it all up. I’m excited for the things coming up in the next few months and the things coming up next year!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Aides/Tools, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to These Little Town Blues

  1. I love this post! I can totally relate to this feeling. I grew up right outside of Chicago, then moved to Boston and now live in NYC. I’ve never seen seen the West Coast, at all. I want to travel SO badly but any time I think of leaving NYC..I get teary eyed! So lame 🙂

  2. abbynormally says:

    I’m definitely a city girl!! But I’m ok with suburbia–not the country though!
    I also love apartment living..you don’t have to shovel your own sidewalks in the gross winters!

Say Hi!

