Saturday Reflections

It’s been an odd week. I think I’m finally starting to settle into the whole “weight loss and exercise=fit living” lallapalozza. The things that have happened this week that for ME are great, and are an immediate payoff from living a healthy lifestyle-seperate and apart from anything that the devil scale has to tell me:

I started running one full mile at a time this week, which is such a huge accomplishment for me that this page isn’t big enough to contain my excitement.

I wore my new size 20 jeans to the store yesterday to buy two new CUTE bras in a size 2″ smaller around the ribcage than I was wearing in December. And they’re so cute..did I mention how cute they are? My grown kids expressed shock at how “small” I look in my new jeans, so apparently, something is happening here!

Immediately after my Sunday weigh-in my weight jumped UP 2 1/2 pounds, giving me something “interesting” to dwell on all week long. Four long days later, my weight inexplicable jumped down again. I weigh in tomorrow, once again. I believe I’ve lost at least a pound. This week has been high drama for me as I’m learning, slowly…but learning, how unimportant the scale is on a day to day basis. I’m seriously contemplating switching to a once a week weigh in. If you can do that, awesome for you. It’s very hard for me. BUT, I think I may be able to do that…sometime soon.

I’ve met so many supportive people on Twitter, Blog to Lose and Bookieboo’s Mamavation that it feels as if it’s going to be impossible NOT to succeed. Having a support system is so important and makes it, dare I say…fun?

Hiking today for me and the grown daughter. It’s sunny and chilly and I can’t wait to get out there-another very exciting benefit for the Saturday Reflection post. Hiking=the greatest fun in life.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Saturday Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Reflections

  1. rundadrun says:

    Another great post! No worries about the weigh in fluctuations. Great job on the SIZE drop! I found out how to put you on my blogroll. Thanks for adding me to yours. Keep up the great work!

  2. pinkymcpie says:

    good grief what is it with the scale!!? now I know why you thought I was in your brain!! I think yours and mine must be in cahoots with each other!

    today’s realisation is completely about what we are DOING and not necessarily what the scale says. That sucks when you are a numbers geek, but we have got to get our heads around it.

    You definitely WILL succeed and you are already! Building up your running duration, size 20 jeans and smaller bras are worth WAY MORE than a number on the scale!

Say Hi!

