Nutritional Yeast Cheezy Sauce (no cheese)

This is one of my all time favorites. I enjoy it almost more than actual cheese. (You can buy this in any bulk section in your grocery store or order online. Get NUTRITIONAL yeast, not brewers yeast! You can get big flake or tiny flake, it’s all the same thing.)

1/4 c Nutritional yeast flakes
1/4 c Flour
1/2 t. lemon juice
1/2 t. Salt (or to taste)
1 c Water
1 t. olive oil
1/2 ts Garlic powder
1/2 t. onion powder
1/2 t. red or green chili powder or 1/4 t. paprika if you want it spicy, or throw in some green chillies. Yum! A little drop of red food color would make it more orang-y, but I never use it.

Put all in a little pan and stir over low to medium heat until it thickens then cook it for another minute.

I like this sauce a lot on pizza as well, or in pasta for a mac and cheese type thing. This is a smaller amount, for one person. Just double it if you want more. It keeps well in the fridge for a few days and reheats easily.

Ok, sigh…I’ll go to the kitchen and make some so I can POST A PICTURE..and that’s the only reason. It’s NOT like I’m gonna eat it or anything. Uhem.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Dinner Ideas, Healthy Snacks, Snack Ideas, Toppings/Spices and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nutritional Yeast Cheezy Sauce (no cheese)

  1. ahh! I need to try this 🙂 probably on my next whole foods adventure 🙂

  2. abbynormally says:

    ahhh that looks scrumptious!!

  3. I love nutritional yeast for its cheesy factor! I discovered it when my daughter had a milk protein allergy and it became a life saver for those “mac n cheese” requests.

Say Hi!

