Change: Good, bad or just terrifying?

So….the one thing I’ve promised myself is that I have to live each day in such a way that I can repeat it endlessly, for the rest of my life, practically guaranteeing that I’ll keep the weight off after I lose it all. I promised myself that if I saw things that were red flags, that I would address them whether I wanted to or not.

I was watching Mizfit’s video: 10 minutes/10 months/10 years and it pulled me up short, made me think. I hate it when that happens. Sigh.

I need to make some changes and frankly, I’m really scared to do so. I’ve been on this weight loss path for almost 6 weeks now and I’ve lost 25 pounds or so. I know, amazing, right? But seriously, I know I can’t keep this up because lately I’ve felt as if I’m really pushing to do so.

I know it’s a good thing to lose 1 or 2 pounds a week, get a moderate amount of good exercise, and then practice PATIENCE. The patience part is what’s so hard. Obviously. Who doesn’t agree with that?

I started out walking just 20 grueling minutes a day 6 weeks ago and now…I can walk 10 plus miles a day if I want to, and I have been doing so for the past couple of days. But, that obviously doesn’t work for a normal life, even mine (I work from home so I have more time), and I know I need to rein things in and make them work for my whole lifestyle, which means having an exercise plan that isn’t almost a job.

I’m doing pretty well on the running thing so I’m going to start doing the 3 1/2 or so miles I’ve been doing twice a day and decrease it to once per day, increasing my running distances and burning more fat…instead of walking for hours on end. Who has that kind of time? I have no intention of gaining all of the weight back just because I couldn’t make time for THREE hours of walking later NEXT year. I realize now, that it’s better for me to work more efficiently, a little harder than I have been in the past few weeks by increasing the running.

Also, harder, I need to add in more calories, which is the really hard part. I’m not eating enough calories lately-looking back at my food logs I can easily see that. I’m just not hungry and it’s very hard for me to get in more calories…especially because, for me, the exercise shuts down my appetite.

This week, since I’ve become aware of these things, I’ve made some small changes-a hundred more calories at each meal seems to be the right way for me to go, but of course, it’s slowed my weight loss down a lot, or it SEEMS to be. I think I’ll be quite lucky if I come in with a one pound loss this week. But truly, I think that 1 or 2 pounds is a very healthy loss, and that’s what I want…only I don’t. You know how that goes.

This whole thing is so hard for me to get my mind wrapped around: I want to build a FIT LIFE, not eat fewer calories or walk for hours every day (hard for me because I adore being outside!), what I want is balance. I have come to that point where I really have to ACCEPT slow weight loss and honestly, it’s very hard to do. I know that in four weeks I’ll say…pshaw…it was no big thang! But for right now, for today. Argh!

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Inner growth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change: Good, bad or just terrifying?

  1. rundadrun says:

    Great blog. Good luck with the weight loss and living fit. Also good luck with the running. It has changed my life and I feel better than ever.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

Say Hi!

