Garlic flavored olive oil/”How to Bake a Potato” in the Microwave

I got my Biggest Loser fix last night. I LOVE that show! It gives me a lot of gas to run on for the rest of the week. As I’ve mentioned before, I belong to “The Biggest Loser Club“, which I credit big time for my success, thus far.

I was baking potatoes last night to go with my chicken Parmesan last night and it occurred to me that maybe I ought to share this cool way that my son (25) taught me to make individual potatoes in the microwave.

Here’s a picture, but be forewarned, you might want to use a slightly deeper bowl. The water in mine tends to boil over sometimes.

Poke your medium sized potato with a fork or knife and place in a microwavable bowl with 1″ of water, cover this bowl with a microwave safe plate. I just use these cheapy dishes. Cook for about 5 minutes, checking it every once in awhile to make sure your water doesn’t boil out of the bowl!

Seriously, these are the BEST potatoes I’ve ever made because the water makes the potato be just super creamy!

Enter, garlic flavored olive oil:

I just take a jar of minced garlic and add about 1/4 of a cup or so to my olive oil bottle, then fill the bottle with oil and as it sits and steeps, it picks up a wonderful hint of garlic, more than a hint actually.

When my potatoes are done, I add just 1 teaspoon of this garlic olive oil instead of butter, and OH it’s good. Give it a try, see what you think! Olive oil: so much better for you than butter.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Toppings/Spices, Vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garlic flavored olive oil/”How to Bake a Potato” in the Microwave

  1. Emily says:

    What a great idea! Garlic oil! yum!

Say Hi!

