I Will NOT Be Defeated

Yeah….I whipped that exercise good! My first round: 57 minutes which included 21 minutes of running.
2nd round: 57 minutes of racewalking.

Oh. My. Goodness. Now that’s some hard stuff there. MUCH harder than running every once in a while. It’s overcast out today, but me? I was sweating…SWEATING. My hair was wet like it used to be when I could run 5 miles straight. My lungs–they were working it!!! I’m serious, that’s a hard workout!!!

It’s got me thinking about racewalking. Hmmmm.

I was huffing along, walking as fast as I could in the damp sand and checking the pace on my Nike+ which was always around in the 16 minute area (half my walk is up LONG hills that go on forever…so yes, I am still a wuss, but I AM working hard.) and I thought, well, let me just try the racewalking thing: arms bent, feet one in front of the other, swing the hips and immediately I went into the 13 and 14 minute per mile range. Very intriguing, no?

I noticed that when I do the whole highly embarrassing hip swing thing, that’s when the pace gets really good. I tried hard to keep my pace at an overall 15 minute range for the almost 4 miles. (hello exhaustion!) A couple of times I dipped into the 12 minute range, surprising the heck out of myself! So…..I’m going to think about racewalking. At the very least, it made me move my butt out there instead of just strolling along smelling the flowers…if there were flowers.

About Fit Living Daily

I love healthy living! I've been married for 35 years and have 2 grown children, one in Albuquerque, NM and one in Washington state. We are currently living in Washington for my husband's job---until he FINALLY retires, but our house is in Albuquerque.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Say Hi!

